St Huberts Chapel, Rowlands Castle
Description: St Huberts Chapel
Date Listed: 16 March 1954
English Heritage Building ID: 142941
OS Grid Reference: SU7427914068
OS Grid Coordinates: 474279, 114068
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9213, -0.9446
Location: Rowlands Castle, Hampshire PO8 0BE
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Rowlands Castle, Hampshire at Explore Britain.
SU 71 SW ROWLANDS CASTLE IDSWORTH
9/3 St Huberts Chapel (formerly
listed as Church of St Hubert)
Parish church, originally dedicated to St Peter and St Paul. 1053, C13, c16, C18,
restoration of 1912 by Goodhart-Rendel, late C20 restoration after a fire. Flint
and stone rubble walls, much of them plastered, with stone dressings for the most
part, brick dressings to the porch. Tile roof. A Saxon-Norman building with
nave and chancel of equal width, but the nave widened on the south side in the
early C16, west porch of C18, vestry of 1912, and replacement bell turret of 1984.
The chancel has coupled lancets, a round-arched east window (1912) within a
medieval frame: the nave has a very small Norman window on the north side and
there are two coupled windows north and south, the north of wood with pointed
openings, the south being late - Perpendicular stone frames with hoodmoulds. The
porch has a gable (1912) with decorative bargeboards and lettered tie-beam. The
interior is of great interest. The chancel has a piscina and is notable for its
wall paintings of 1300-1320; the splays of the east window have figures of St
Peter and St Paul, and two angels in the arch soffit, a panel north of the east
window has obliterated details, a large panel on the north wall depicts the lives
of St Hubert (upper band) and John the Baptist. The chancel ceiling was repaired
1912, with diamond panels, cable ribs, and 13 medallions (eagles, bishop, chalice,
St Hubert etc). The nave has a narrow arched doorway (blocked on the outside),
a western gallery beneath which is an octagonal font (c1400) and an ancient wooden
bench. There are C18 box pews in the eastern half, and a centrally-placed (1912)
Jacobean two-decker pulpit with tester. The bell chamber at the east end of the
nave is masked by a plaster wall, containing a painted Royal Coat of Arms of
George III, surrounded by the inscription...."The chapel was repaired in 1793 -
Thomas Padwick, Chapel Warden. This chapel was repaired in 1824, Thomas Smith,
Chapel Warden. On the wall west of the pulpit are painted texts of two periods,
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.