Description: Chorleywood College
Date Listed: 3 October 1985
English Heritage Building ID: 158738
OS Grid Reference: TQ0386196171
OS Grid Coordinates: 503861, 196171
Latitude/Longitude: 51.6547, -0.5000
Explore more of the area around Chorleywood, Hertfordshire at Explore Britain.
TQ 09 NW CHORLEYWOOD DOG KENNEL LANE
5/97 Chorleywood College
Country house, now college. 1865 for J.S. Gilliatt. Yellow brick, stone
dressings. Slate mansard roof. In a French Renaissance Style. Front and
rear ranges as 2 distinct blocks, that to rear longer. 2 storeys and
attics. 3:3:3 front, centre projecting forward. Projecting central porch
with front and return round arches enclosed by glazing and panelled
doors. Corner piers with plinth, fluted colonnettes, foliate ornament
and monograms in spandrels, keyed blocks to archivolts. Moulded cornice.
Pierced parapet with circular openings. Flanking ground floor 3 by 3
ovolo moulded stone mullion and transom windows with cornices. Plinth.
String course to first floor with 3 sashes in lugged-architraves to
central portion that to centre slightly larger. Each bay articulated by
giant pilaster strips. Moulded cornice to mansard attic with segmental
pedimented dormers with pilaster jambs to round headed windows, that to
centre elaborated with double pilasters, scrolled sides, open pediment
with a smaller open pediment rising above it all. Railings on top of
roof. Outer bays have tall ground floor sashes with lugged and corniced
architraves. Plinth. Sill bands. String course. First floor sashes with
lugged architraves. Moulded cornice. Dormers as to centre with relief
carving in pediments. Flanking central bays, at left end and to rear
right are cross axial stacks with stone moulded bases and caps and blind
key blocked round arches on shafts. 1 bay right return with large iron
and glass conservatory attached, moulded stone base, coved roof. Garden
front: 1:2:3:2:1. Centre and ends projecting forward. To centre ground
floor tripartite French windows with stone plinth and loosely Corinthian
architraves. String course to first floor, 1:2:1 light windows with
pilaster mullions, that to left with stained glass to stairs. Giant
brick pilasters with stone carved capitals. Moulded cornice. Carved
festoons below eaves and at sills to 3 dormers with round headed
windows, pilaster jambs, masks over keys, modillioned cornice, hipped
roofs. Flanking centre are 2 bays set back, ground floor left French
windows, right tall sashes with a stone plinth. In front of ground floor
linking central and end bays are Doric ashlar double arcades with round
key blocked archivolts, carved medallions in spandrels. First floor
sashes with lugged architraves. Outer bays have tripartite windows on
both floors with pilaster mullions. Giant pilasters. Hipped roofs.
Stacks on rear block as at front. Attached to left from front is 2
storey stock brick service wing, glazing bar sashes with stone sills,
gauged brick flat arched heads. Plain coped parapet. Plat band to rear.
Front bay nearest main range has a dormer in a mansard as on main range.
Interior: 2 marble Corinthian columns from entrance hall to open well
stair with turned balusters, carved newel posts, panelled soffit and
coved soffit to gallery, plasterwork ceiling. Elsewhere elaborate wood
chimney pieces, panelling, library shelving and plasterwork ceilings all
in C17 styles. Formerly known as the Cedars. (VCH 1908).
Listing NGR: TQ0386196171
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.