Description: Mann Memorial Almshouses
Date Listed: 2 October 1981
English Heritage Building ID: 160878
OS Grid Reference: TL4846014784
OS Grid Coordinates: 548460, 214784
Latitude/Longitude: 51.8120, 0.1522
Explore more of the area around Sawbridgeworth, Hertfordshire at Explore Britain.
Mann Memorial Almshouses
(Nos 1, 2 and 3)
TL 4846 1478:3/65
1901-2 erected by Mrs Mann of Hyde Hall (Kelly's directory 1914), as a
memorial to her husband. Gables have plaques with 'HEM' '1899'. Single
storey facing into churchyard. Tudor Gothic style in knapped flint walling
with stone dressings and gabled slate roofs. Symmetrical E front with
recessed centre and flanking gabled wings. Parapet interrupted by higher
central gable with kneelers and upright oval panel carved with fishing rod,
2 barbed hooks, a float and a fish. Moulded stone quoins, drip moulds, 2,
2 light, mullioned and transomed windows to centre, canted 4 light oriel
window to front of each wing, and bases and caps to tall chimneys. Lean-to
slate and timber open porches in angles and similar central porch each on
low masonry piers with flint set flush with stone quoins and coping.
Plank doors with pointed arched openings. Similar drip mould and cross
windows to N and S flanks. Outbuildings to rear around yard covered by
glass and iron roof. Red brick wall and gate piers to Vantorts Road with
moulded terra cotta copings. Low wall to churchyard boundary of stone and
flint formerly carried railings. An elaborate small almshouse and part of
group with parish church.
Listing NGR: TL4844814798
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.