Description: Hammond's Farmhouse
Date Listed: 9 June 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 163144
OS Grid Reference: TL1444332288
OS Grid Coordinates: 514443, 232288
Latitude/Longitude: 51.9773, -0.3352
Explore more of the area around Pirton, Hertfordshire at Explore Britain.
PIRTON BURGE END LANE
TL 13 SW (East side)
1/134 No. 2
9.6.52 (Hammond's Farmhouse)
Farmhouse. Early C16 former open hall house; late C16 W wing;
heightened, and rebuilt with E crosswing, stair turret and 2-storeys
porch in early C17 probably by John Hammond; repaired c.1900; panelling
from upper rooms taken to Rectory Farmhouse in 1930s. Timber frame,
exposed on 1st floor with red brick infill, ground floor old red brick
(with one course of headers to four of stretchers), old red tile roofs.
An irregular 2-storeys, L-shaped house facing S, with a 3-bays E
crosswing projecting to front and gabled porch of equal projection in
the angle in line with the large internal chimney built in the old
cross-passage and a gabled stair turret at rear. Lower 2-storeys W wing.
S front has 3-light flush casement windows on each floor, original
moulded bargeboards with pendants to porch and gable of E wing, 2-lights
window to upper floor of porch with 4-centred arched doorway and turned
baluster like mullions to window on W side formerly unglazed.
Close-studding in upper floor. Cyma moulded course to top of base to
both chimneys but rectangular shaft with corbelled top to main internal
chimney, and 3 diagonal square shafts to large chimney projecting on E
side of E wing. Large ovolo-moulded mullioned and transomed window in
rear wall of W wing. Interior has exposed timbers, with symmetrical
tension braces and sockets for upper end bench supports in W wall of
central room. Inserted ovolo-moulded axial floor beam. 2 panel
ovolo-moulded cross-beams in E wing with large plain fireplace probably
for kitchen use. Peg-holes in timber lintel to hall fireplace suggest a
timber-framed chimney preceded the late C17 brick chimney in the former
cross-passage. Elaborate roll moulded axial beams in W wing with lower
floor level. Ovolo-moulded 4-centred fireplace with jamb stops to
chamber over E wing, which has an arch-braced roof truss with central
pendant. Chamber over hall shows long straight braces to the tie-beam,
swept-jowled posts and clasped purlins on a collar. Fine closed string
stair with square newels, ogee finials, and symmetrical turned
balusters. Sun fire insurance mark No. 270506 on LH corner post of
porch.(RCHM (1911)164: VCH (1912)45: Pevsner (1977)270: RCHM Typescript).
Listing NGR: TL1444332288
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.