Church of All Saints, Hawkhurst
Description: Church of All Saints
Date Listed: 22 June 1989
English Heritage Building ID: 169772
OS Grid Reference: TQ7620830509
OS Grid Coordinates: 576208, 130509
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0469, 0.5124
Location: Rye Road, Hawkhurst, Kent TN18 4EY
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Hawkhurst, Kent at Explore Britain.
HAWKHURST RYE ROAD
TQ 7630-7730 (south side)
17/422 Church of All Saints
Chapel of ease. 1861, by Sir G G Scott for Rev H E and Miss C Jennings. Sand-
stone with plain tiled roof and shingled spire. chancel, nave with aisles,
south-eastern tower and north porch. Exterior of uniform execution with plinth,
string course, offset corner buttresses and corbel table to parapet-gabled roofs
with cross finials. Paired cusped lancets with trefoils under single hood
throughout, with wheel window in western gable, and west window set in blind
arcading. Blind arcading also to chancel north wall. Tower of 3 stages with off-
set corner buttresses, lancette stair lights and recessed lancet belfry openings
with roundels over and corbel table to broach spire. Gabled north porch with
arcaded side walls (integral benches within) and moulded outer and inner doorways
with attached shafts and hoods and florid stiff-leaf decoration, the inner door
with good quality scrolled C-strap hinges. Interior: faced with sandstone
ashlar, with 4 bay arcades, the round piers with French influenced crockets and
with keel-moulded arches, with corbelled colonettes to responds. Open trussed
rafter roof. Roll and keel moulded chancel arch on corbels, and simple hood
moulded arches from south aisle and chancel to tower chapel. Sanctuary with blind
arcading with marble shafts and string course, windows with attached shafts.
Fittings: brass foliage bracketed altar rail and scrolled carved bench ends in
chancel. Brass lectern and enriched brass rail to stone pulpit with dogtooth and
water leaf enrichment and relief panels of Apostles. Columned stem. Fluted stem
and bowl font with inscription and Holy Dove. All fittings by Scott. Glass in
chancel by Clayton and Bell, 1861. See BOE, Kent, I, 1980, 316; see also
Victorian Churches of Kent, Roger Homans, 1984, 64.
Listing NGR: TQ7620830509
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.