Date Listed: 9 July 1973
English Heritage Building ID: 170041
OS Grid Reference: TQ6756336634
OS Grid Coordinates: 567563, 136634
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1045, 0.3921
Explore more of the area around Lamberhurst, Kent at Explore Britain.
LAMBERHURST PARSONAGE LANE
8/204 Cutthorn (formerly listed
as Cutthorne Cottages)
House, sometime cottages. C16, clad C18. Timber framed and clad with red and blue
chequered brick on ground floor and tile hung on first floor with plain tiled roof.
Two storeys and attic on plinth with moulded bresummer to first floor (except to
left hand bay) and returned to right end elevation. Stacks at end left and at end
right and 3 flat roofed dormers. Three 2 light wooden casements on each floor, that
to centre smaller, with single lights to end right on first floor and to left and
right on ground floor. Boarded doors to left and to right with flat hoods on
console-outline brackets and blocked doorway to centre right. Rear with single
storey lean-to outshot with dormers at either end. Interior: fully exposed frame of
large scantling with chamfered jowls. Two builds, the end left bay an addition with
tenoned purlin roof, the main range with earlier staggered purlin roof. The building
is recorded at least as early as 1572 (County Archives), and the rear courtyard has
stone lined spring basin, once a major supply for the neighbourhood.
Listing NGR: TQ6756336634
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.