Church of St George, Benenden
Description: Church of St George
Date Listed: 2 June 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 170226
OS Grid Reference: TQ8084032670
OS Grid Coordinates: 580840, 132670
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0649, 0.5795
Location: Fuggles Court, Benenden, Kent TN17 4DN
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Benenden, Kent at Explore Britain.
TQ8032 THE GREEN
1350-0/7/125 CHURCH OF ST GEORGE
Parish Church. C14 and C15, damaged after storm of 1672 and
restored 1676 and in 1862 by David Brandon. Built of sandstone
ashlar, south aisle of sandstone rubble with plain tiled roof.
Nave and chancel without a break, north and south chapels,
north and south aisles and north and south porches with
parvises. West tower of 3 stages. Square with stepped
buttresses, octagonal turret with spirelet to south west and
crenellated parapet. Double round-headed window to south. West
face has double round-headed window to top stage and small
rectangular window below. Pointed arched 4 light window with
cinque foiled heads and intersecting tracery. Pointed arched
door with dripmould and C19 door with decorative iron hinges.
Nave and chancel have crenellated parapet and stepped
buttresses. Four 3 light cinquefoiled windows with dripmoulds.
Large east window with 3 tiers of cinquefoil-headed lights.
North porch has round headed arch and parvise with trefoliated
lancet windows. Vaulted with 8 ribs and a salamander carving
on the boss. South porch has C19 crenellated parapet, offset
buttresses, rectangular window and pointed arched doorway.
Interior 5 bay nave with octagonal columns and arches. C19
nave roof with 2 tiers of purlins, crenellated tie beams and
C19 foliated corbels. C19 octagonal stone font. Coat of Arms
of George II over north door. C19 aisle roofs. C19 chancel
arch with angel corbels. C19 stained glass windows, octagonal
stone font and octagonal stone pulpit on marble piers. North
chapel has monument to Sir John Morris of Hempstead (d. 1750)
Admiral of the Fleet by P. Scheemakers, a marble beast with
obelisk behind, inscription tablet below and family shield and
crest. Also standing wall monument to Thomas Hallett Hodges d.
1801, an urn bearing sarcophagus in front of truncated
(Buildings of England; "West Kent and the Weald":- John Newman:
Listing NGR: TQ8084032670
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.