Church of St Nicholas, Sandhurst
Description: Church of St Nicholas
Date Listed: 20 June 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 170288
OS Grid Reference: TQ7905627308
OS Grid Coordinates: 579056, 127308
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0173, 0.5514
Location: Church Road, Sandhurst, Kent TN18 5NS
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Sandhurst, Kent at Explore Britain.
TQ72NE CHURCH ROAD
1350-0/5/179 CHURCH OF ST NICHOLAS
Parish church. Nave and chancel C13 and C14, aisles and west
tower C14, heavily restored and chancel largely rebuilt by
R.C. Carpenter in 1875. Built of sandstone with tiled roof.
Nave, chancel, west tower, north and south aisles with north
chantry chapel, north porch and C19 south porch. C14 west
tower in 3 stages with renewed reticulated window to 1st stage
and tall shallow angled buttress, louvred lancets to bell
stage and arched doorcase with hood moulding. Top replaced in
C16 brickwork. North and South aisles, the south aisle having
3 restored triple cinque foiled light windows with Kentish
tracery. Plinth. Nave has clerestorey with lancets. C19 north
porch, wooden on sandstone base with tiled roof. Interior:
West tower opens by arches to North and South into lean to
aisles and has semi-octagonal responds with sunk quadrant. C14
sandstone font with Decorated tracery pattern on each face.
Nave of 4 bays with C14 arcade with octagonal piers of 2
dates, except for easternmost, piers rebuilt in C19.
Clerestorey lancets are probably C13. North aisle has
roll-moulded roof and rood stairs. Chantry Chapel or
Betherynden Chapel built c.1450 by Sir Richard Betherynden of
Old Place. South aisle has in East window stained glass
depicting St Michael of c.1450, reset from the Chantry Chapel.
South window has remains of C15 glass, also from the Chantry
Chapel, depicting St George, a priest and an abbess. Piscina
between them and stoup on one side of South door. 4 bay
chancel has C14 aumbry but was heavily restored by R.C.
Carpenter. C19 barrel vaulted ceiling. C18 wall tablet to
members of Hodson family, swansneck pediment with urn in
center and console brackets. 3 bells date from the C17, the
oldest (No. 5) a C15 one is no longer used. Titus Oates began
his clerical career here as an assistant curate.
(West Kent and the Weald).
Listing NGR: TQ7905427314
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.