Description: The Crane House
The Stocks Outside the Town Hall
The Town Hall
Date Listed: 29 September 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 171149
OS Grid Reference: TR1804759814
OS Grid Coordinates: 618047, 159814
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2957, 1.1262
Explore more of the area around Fordwich, Kent at Explore Britain.
5273 FORDWICH KING STREET
29.9.52. The Town Hall and
30.1.67. The Crane House, with
the stocks outside the
TR 1859 27/225
Fordwich is associated with the Cinque Ports as a limb of Sandwich and was
a Corporation by prescription until it was deprived of its municipal status
by the Municipal Corporations Act 1883. The Town Hall comprised a storeroom
and prison on the ground floor and the court room and jury room over. It is
probably an early C15 building, and there is evidence that it was extensively
repaired in 1474. Timber framed building, the ground floor rebuilt in brick,
stone rubble and flints. The first floor is close studded with herringbone
brick nagging on the east and south sides and plaster infilling on the west
side, all three oversailing on a moulded bressumer and brackets with a red
brick buttress giving support at the south east corner. Steeply-pitched hipped
tile roof. Casement windows of four lights with 4-centred heads, wooden mullions,
diamond-shaped leaded panes and old green glass. Two storeys, One window
each facing east, south and north. The tiny prison on the ground floor retains
its bed, while the wooden stocks are placed in the forecourt to the south.
The court room above also has its original fittings and a crownpost roof.
To the north is an addition of tarred weatherboarding with a tiled roof. This
was the Crane House. The north gable end facing the river Stour is jettied.
At the north east angle is a swinging post with a cross-piece like a gallows,
from which a large hook is suspended for the raising and lowering of goods.
Listing NGR: TR1804759814
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.