The Old Leper Church of St Nicholas, Harbledown and Rough Common
Description: The Old Leper Church of St Nicholas
Date Listed: 14 March 1980
English Heritage Building ID: 171163
OS Grid Reference: TR1304558153
OS Grid Coordinates: 613045, 158153
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2827, 1.0536
Location: Church Hill, Harbledown, Kent CT2 9AE
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Harbledown and Rough Common, Kent at Explore Britain.
5273 HARBLEDOWN CHURCH HILL
The Old Leper Church
of St Nicholas
TR 1358 31/353
The hospital church dating from Archbishop Lanframe's Hospital for Lepers of
circa 1084. Chancel and nave with north and south aisles and a tower at the
west end of the north aisle. The chancel and nave are Norman and date from
Lonframe's foundation. The north aisle and the tower were added in the C12,
the south aisle in the C14. Built of flint with stone quoins. Tiled roof.
Catslide roofs over aisle and south transept. Crown post roof. Norman capitals.
Squint. Traces of Mediaeval wall paintings circa 1350. C14 glass in chancel
windows. West doorway with continuous zigzag.
Archbishop Lanframe's Hospital for Lepers was originally known as the Hospital
of the Forest of Blean. Harbledown was the last step of pilgrims on their
way to Canterbury. At the Reformation as subsequently it was converted into
Alms houses and housed a master, 15 brothers and 15 sisters together with a
non-resident Reader or Chaplain. These were rebuilt in 1685 and again in 1840.
Listing NGR: TR1304358155
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.