Description: The Red House Including Entrance Gateway, Railings and Side Brick Walls to Forecourt
Date Listed: 13 April 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 172190
OS Grid Reference: TQ5312854518
OS Grid Coordinates: 553128, 154518
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2692, 0.1937
Explore more of the area around Sevenoaks, Kent at Explore Britain.
(The Red House)
(Including entrance gateway
railings and side brick
walls to forecourt)
TQ 5354/1/14 13.4.51
Circa 1700. Symmetrical 1.7.1. facade of 2 storeys. Supporting wings either
side recessed. Red brick elevation with flat arches of rubbed red headers
over windows. Brick plinth. Moulded stone band above ground floor windows.
Heavy projecting moulded modillioned cornice with concealed leaded gutter.
Cornice with egg-and-dart moulding and carved and enriched console
brackets. Modillioned cornice returned at side of centre feature. Steep,
hipped tile roof with 3 flat-roofed leaded dormers containing square-paned
casements. Tall end brick stacks with connecting tiled stack ridges.
Supporting wings on either side with moulded plain modillioned eaves and
gutter and hipped, tiled roof. Moulded stone band above ground floor windows
and modillioned eaves at lower level than in centre. Centre C18 panelled
door (up 2 steps) with rectangular fanlight over with leaded tracery. Panelled
reveals and soffit to doorway. Slender fluted Doric columns on either side of
door supporting entablature with flat modillioned cornice. Sash windows
with bars intact in moulded exposed frames with ornamental sunblind cases.
Small brick moulded dressings around all window openings. Slit sash windows
on both floors at either end of centre feature. Windows of centre feature
closely spaced. Square, sash windows in painted wooden reveals on first
floor of supporting wings. Small quarter basement light to left of centre
door with flat segmental brick arch over. Ornamental C18 cast iron railings,
on brick plinth bordering the High Street with ornamental carriage entrance
gates to right and left. Railings and gates terminated at either end by
brick piers surmounted by stone coping and canon balls. Small gravel yard
in front of building with returned C18 brick side walls to right with modern
flat lintel arched opening.
Listing NGR: TQ5312854518
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.