Church of St Martin of Tours, Detling
Description: Church of St Martin of Tours
Date Listed: 26 April 1968
English Heritage Building ID: 173649
OS Grid Reference: TQ7919658159
OS Grid Coordinates: 579196, 158159
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2944, 0.5688
Location: 5 The Street, Detling, Kent ME14 3JT
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Detling, Kent at Explore Britain.
TQ 75 NE DETLING THE STREET
5/141 Church of St. Martin
26.4.68 of Tours
Parish Church. C 1100 C 13 and C 15
restored in late C19. West tower, nave, south porch, chancel,
north chapel, north aisle. West tower: in 2 stages. Galletted
ragstone on plinth with diagonal buttresses. Shingled broach
spire 1861 by R.C. Hussey. Single-light restored bell-chamber
windows. Tall C19 3-light window over small arched Perpendicular
west door, both with hood-moulds. Nave: early Norman. Flint
with tufa quoins and plain tile roof. No plinth. 2-light
Perpendicular window to right of porch. Porch: Perpendicular.
Ragstone with plain tile roof. Moulded outer doorway. 2-centred
arched door into church with cusped niche over. Chancel: early
Norman. Flint, with tufa quoins to south-west corner,plain tile
roof, no plinth. 3-light Perpendicular south and east windows.
Roof partly overlaps that of nave. North Chapel: Perpendicular.
Ragstone, on plinth, plain tile roof and diagonal buttresses.
Independently roofed. Restored 2-light Perpendicular north window.
North aisle: Early English, enlarged in 1887. Flint, with most of
west wall in ragstone, and plain tile roof. On plinth.
Roofed at higher level than chapel. 2-centred arched doorhead in
west wall. Interior: 2-bay Early English arcade to aisle with
wide plain arches springing from moulded imposts. Single-bay
Perpendicular arcade between chapel and chancel. Original roof
over chapel of common rafters with sous-laces and ashlar-pieces.
Rest C19, that to aisle with members forming smooth semi-circular
barrel vault. Traces of early window in south wall of nave.
Fittings: Early, plain 12-sided stone font C20 base. Mid C14
wooden lectern, probably made for Boxley Abbey. 4 faces of head
carved with pierced roundels, of quatrefoils, mouchettes and trefoils.
Corner-pieces delicately carved with small animals, vines and
an angel. Borders of small flowers and faces. Tenon for
statuette above, and panelled octagonal stem with large, intricately
carved buttressed foot. One of the finest and oldest remaining
in England. (J. Newman, North East and East Kent, 19) Monuments:
on south wall of north aisle; part of monumental stone tomb slab
with figure of priest carved in relief. On south wall of chancel;
monument to Mary Foote, died 1778. Delicately carved Strawberry
Hill Gothic. Low panelled tomb chest under triple ogee canopy.
Listing NGR: TQ7932458331
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.