Church of St Lawrence, Otterden
Description: Church of St Lawrence
Date Listed: 26 April 1968
English Heritage Building ID: 173981
OS Grid Reference: TQ9473154184
OS Grid Coordinates: 594731, 154184
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2536, 0.7892
Location: Otterden, Kent ME13 0BU
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Otterden, Kent at Explore Britain.
OTTERDEN BUNCE COURT ROAD
TQ 95 SW (west side)
5/243 Church of St. Lawrence
Parish church. 1753-9, possibly designed by the Rev. Granville
Wheler of Otterden Place, on footings of Medieval nave. Chancel
of 1894. Red brick in Flemish bond with plain tile roof.
Rectangular, with very small chapel or alcove for monuments
on noth side, and small chancel. Brick plinth with plain ashlar
coping, rusticated ashlared stone quoins, broad wood eaves band,
projecting eaves with flat soffits and single plain modillions.
Hipped roof. West front (towards Otterden Place) has 2 niches
with round-arched rubbed brick heads and stone cills, with 3
blank rectangular recesses above. Central fielded panelled door
with slightly segmental head, plain stone architrave and triple
keystone, topped with moulded cornice. 3 mid C19 round-headed
stone windows to south side. Interior: Mid C18 detailing. Chinese
Chippendale benches. Brasses to Thomas Seintlegier, d. 1408;
Isobel Chyrche, d. 1488; John Aucher, d. 1502 and James Aucher,
d. 1508. Standing wall monument to William Lewin, d. 1598; alabaster,
with recumbent figures flanked by Corinthian columns carrying
entablature and achievements. Kneeling children to base. Verse
inscriptions. Standing wall monument to John Bunce, d. 1611;
alabaster, with kneeling figures at a prayer desk. Standing wall
monument to Sir Justinian Lewin, d. 1620, attributed to Epiphanius
Evesham (J. Newman, Buildings of England Series, North East and
East Kent, 1969). Alabaster and black marble, with plaster
figures, he lying, she kneeling, with daughter beside. Flanking
columns bearing pediments. Memorial slab to Margaret Slatyer,
d. 1654. Cartouche to Sir George Curteis, d. 1702 with putti to top
and hollow skull to base. Scrolled cartouche to Ann Curteis, d. 1722
(J. Newman, op. Cit.)
Listing NGR: TQ9466854202
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.