Description: Martins Farmhouse
Date Listed: 14 October 1987
English Heritage Building ID: 174885
OS Grid Reference: TQ7161445284
OS Grid Coordinates: 571614, 145284
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1810, 0.4540
Explore more of the area around Collier Street, Kent at Explore Britain.
TQ 74 NW
4/84 Martins Farmhouse
Farmhouse. C15 or early C16 with later alterations and early C20 facade with
applied date 1721. Timber framed. Brick in stretcher bond to right end of
ground floor, rest pebbledashed. Plain tile roof. 4 timber-framed bays;
two-bay open hall, with storeyed bay to each end. 2 storeys, on high brick
plinth. Underbuilt gable end jetty to left. Exposed arch-braced tie-beam,
and studding of thin scantling with herringbone brick infilling, to right
gable end. Roof hipped to left, half-hipped to right. Projecting gable end
stack to left, and ridge stack to right end of left hall bay. Two rectangular
first-floor bays to front elevation, one to left end and another to right hall
bay, each pebbledashed with exposed corner posts and rails, rising above eaves
with hipped plain tile roof. Right bay, at least, may be partly C17.
Irregular fenestration of four windows; one bipartite sash (two panes per
sash) in moulded architrave to each rectangular bay and another to right end.
Small two-light leaded casement to left hall bay. Two large early C20
canted bays to ground floor (under first-floor bays). Ground floor built
out between bays, to take panelled door with ogee top light and flanking
leaded lights with ogee heads, under corbelled triangular wooden canopy.
Brick rear wing to left and rendered rear wing to right. Interior: broad
axial joists to left end room, morticed for partition, and with stair trimmer
to rear right corner. Moulded right end-of-hall beam. Tension-braced first-
floor left end-of-hall partition. Shaped jowls to principal posts. Rebated
central truss posts with cambered tie-beam, chamfered arch braces and fillet.
Right end bay has pair of principal posts suggesting former subdivision into
two narrow bays; tie-beam non-extant. Roof not inspected.
Listing NGR: TQ7161345282
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.