Description: Dungeness Lighthousemen's Dwellings
Date Listed: 28 November 1950
English Heritage Building ID: 175194
OS Grid Reference: TR0887916875
OS Grid Coordinates: 608879, 116875
Latitude/Longitude: 50.9135, 0.9701
Explore more of the area around Lydd, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 01 NE 6/54 28.11.50. Dwellings.
These dwellings are formed out of the remains of the lighthouse erected
by William Coke of Holkham in 1792 Architect Samuel Wyatt. When a new
lighthouse was erected in 1904, the upper parts of the older lighthouse
were demolished, but the 2 lowest storeys were left and converted into
dwellings for the lighthouse keepers, to which 2 separate houses had been
added in the early C19. The remains of the original structure form a
circular building with a hollow centre making a little circular courtyard.
2 storeys stuccoed. Flat roof with cornice and parapet. 16 sashes with
glazing bars intact. Every 4th window bay projects with a door on the
ground floor and window above. In the early C19, 2 more separate dwellings
were added on the south east and south west sides of the original building.
These are little square single-storey houses or pavilions with 2 windows
facing each way. Stuccoed. Hipped slate roofs with wide eaves cornice.
Glazing bars intact. On the inner side of each is a little gabled porch
with a window facing inwards and a 6 panel door. On the outer side of
each building is the coat of arms of Trinity House.
Listing NGR: TR0887916875
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.