Church of St Peter and St Paul, Dymchurch
Description: Church of St Peter and St Paul
Date Listed: 9 June 1959
English Heritage Building ID: 175519
OS Grid Reference: TR1031529737
OS Grid Coordinates: 610315, 129737
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0285, 0.9979
Location: New Hall Close, Dymchurch, Kent TN29 0NP
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Dymchurch, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 103 298 DYMCHURCH HIGH STREET
4/61 Church of St. Peter
and St. Paul
Parish Church. C12 and C13, restored in 1821. Stone, with rendered mortar.
Tower partly timber framed, with upper stage tile-hung. Slate roof to nave,
plain tiles to chancel, wood shingles to tower. Small west tower, nave,
south porch, chancel. West tower: 1821, built between 2 existing stone
buttresses at west end of nave. 2 stages with pyramidal tower. Rectangular
louvres to upper stage. C19 pointed-arched wooden casement to west, and
ribbed west door under flat bracketted hood. Inner doorway C12 with round-
headed arch of 3 orders (plain, fat roll and chevrons) springing from
square moulded abaci. Single shaft either side with scalloped cushion capital
and moulded base. Nave: no plinth. Rounded C19 kneelers. Two C19 south
windows in an early C15 style. South porch: 1910. Pebbledashed with
plain tile roof on moulded plinth. Moulded 2-centred arched outer doorway.
Inner doorway C12, similar to west doorway but with rows of small nailheads
visible within base moulding. Chancel: C12, east end possibly rebuilt in
1821. Single chamfered lancet-type light to north and to south. Similar
but broader light to east. Semi-octagonal north-east vestry of 1910 not
included. Nave: north elevation: 1821, with low plinth. Rendered
rectangular stack to east end. Two C19 windows in an early C15 style.
two C19 west windows to north of tower. Interior: structure: broad
aisle-less nave,widened to north in 1821. C12 chancel arch, plain to east,
decorated to west with fat roll and chevrons springing from square moulded
abaci, each surmounting single shaft with voluted cushion capital and
moulded base. Narrow tiles laid in herringbone pattern infilling archways
of south and west doorways. Roof: nave roof 1821, in 5 cants with 3
queen-post trusses. Chancel roof of common rafters and collars re-using
older ashlar-pieces. Fittings: no stoups or piscinae. Broad plain-
chamfered pointed-arched aumbry in east wall of nave to south of chancel
arch, linked to much taller, broad, hollow-chamfered opening, possibly a
sedile, in south wall of nave towards east end. Both have roll chamfer-stops.
The "sedile" has key-pattern wall-painting within head, with traces of
superimposed patterning. Font, medieval or C17, with circular bowl, octagonal
shaft, with fat roll to base above short cylinder with fins to a final
rectangular plinth, all with pronounced vertical tooling. Gallery of 1821
spanning west end on 5 rectangular Doric columns, with fielded panels,
and splat balusters to staircase in south-west corner. Royal Arms 1778 on
north wall of nave. Monuments: wall tablet on south wall of nave at east
end to Captain Timothy Bedingfeild, d.1693, and Mary his wife, d.1714; black
and white marble on moulded plinth with consoles, and moulded cornice
surmounted by emblem. (J. Newman, Buildings of England Series, West Kent
and the Weald, 1980).
Listing NGR: TR1034429640
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.