Church of St Mary and St Radegund, Postling
Description: Church of St Mary and St Radegund
Date Listed: 29 December 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 175634
OS Grid Reference: TR1454539092
OS Grid Coordinates: 614545, 139092
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1109, 1.0637
Location: Postling, Kent CT21 4EY
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Postling, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 13 NW POSTLING THE STREET (west side)
3/57 Church of St.
29.12.66 Mary and St.
Parish church. Late C11 or C12, C13 and C19. Restored 1896-7. Roughly
coursed stone and flint rubble with stone dressings. Plain tile roofs.
Shingled spire. West tower, nave, south porch, chancel. West tower: C13.
No stages, no plinth. Integral pilaster buttresses to west. Stone eaves
band. Splay-footed spire. Two C19 lancets to north and two to south of
belfry. Small rectangular louvred opening towards top of west face. Small
louvred lancet lower down to west and another to south. Moulded pointed-
arched west doorway. Nave: south elevation: late C11 or C12. Roughly
coursed flint with trends of herringbone stone-work. No plinth. One C19
lancet. One C15 two-light window with cusped ogee-headed lights, squared
head and hoodmould. South porch: 1825. Roughcast, with gabled plain-tile
roof. Round-headed outer doorway with datestone G.S. Inner doorway
pointed-arched and chamfered with broach stops. Chancel: late C11 or C12,
extended later (probably in C13). No plinth. North-east and south-east
angle buttresses. Two C19 trefoil-headed south lancets. C19 three-light
pointed-arched east window with hoodmould. 2 restored north lancets of
uneven size. Nave: north elevation: one buttress. Broad hollow-chamfered
lancet towards east. Small round-headed central window. C19 lancet
towards west. Interior: structure: chancel arch with late C11 or C12 nicked
and chamfered imposts and imprinted enrichment; arch pointed and chamfered,
rebuilt in C13. No tower arch. Moulded rere-arches to north nave lancets.
Roof: crown-post roof to nave with four moulded octagonal crown-posts on
moulded tie-beams. Sous-laces, ashlar-pieces and moulded cornice. Similar
roof to chancel, but with renewed crown-posts. Fittings: piscina towards
east end of south wall of chancel with renewed trefoiled head. Very small
trefoil-headed opening in north wall opposite. Pointed-arched opening to
east end of south wall of nave. Chamfered segmental-headed opening to north-
west end of chancel. Font with deep rectangular tapering stone bowl on five
shafts with bell bases. Stumps of moulded, coloured beams on stone corbels;
north and south ends of rood beam towards east end of nave, and south end of
a beam half way down chancel. Chamfered, uncoloured stump, also on corbel,
about ½ metres to east of last beam. Small dedication stone to north wall of
chancel giving date (14th August) but not year; a rare survival. Decoration:
fragments of C12 wall-painting to south-west corner of nave; frieze of zig-zag
bands with stylized flowers to angles, and key exposed above. Further
fragment, probably C17, superimposed on west wall. (J. Newman, B.O.E. Series,
North-east and East Kent, 1983.)
Listing NGR: TR1460239032
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.