Church of St Peter and St Paul, Saltwood
Description: Church of St Peter and St Paul
Date Listed: 29 December 1966
English Heritage Building ID: 175645
OS Grid Reference: TR1578936007
OS Grid Coordinates: 615789, 136007
Latitude/Longitude: 51.0828, 1.0796
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Saltwood, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 13 NE SALTWOOD RECTORY LANE
4/67 Church of St. Peter
29.12.66 and St. Paul
Parish church. Late C11 or C12, C13, C14, restored late C19. Thin slabs
of roughly coursed stone. Plain tile roofs. West tower, nave, south porch,
chancel, north vestry, north aisle. West Tower: C13. Two stages on rendered
plinth, with battlements above chamfered string. Saddleback roof removed
circa 1892. Belfry windows C19 in a C13 style. Three C19 chamfered round-
headed windows towards base of south side. C19 west doorway. Nave: Late
C11 or C12. No plinth. One buttress. Two C19 windows of two cinquefoil-
headed lights. Narrow blocked round-headed window to east of porch. South
Porch: C19. Timber-framed, on stone plinth. Restored late C11 or C12 inner
doorway. Chancel: C14. One south and one north buttress. Diagonal south-
east and north east buttress. Two C14 south windows; one of 2 cinquefoil-
headed lights without overall architrave and one, restored, of 2 cusped ogee-
headed lights with quatrefoil. Reticulated C14 east window. Two north
windows as those to south. North Vestry: C19, on moulded plinth, with
bargeboards to north. Unpierced. North Aisle: C19, with C13 origins.
Gabled (formerly lean-to), with 3 north buttresses. C19 windows. C19 lean-
to stone boilerhouse to west end with low adjacent turret dated 1873.
Interior: Structure: C13 two-bay nave arcade of broad, lightly-chamfered
pointed arches springing from chamfered imposts. Bar stops to end piers.
Broad pointed, C14 chancel arch with plain and hollow chamfers and attached
columns with bell capitals and bases. No tower arch. Double-shafted late
C11 or C12 west doorway, visible from within tower, with scalloped capitals
and moulded abaci. Roof: crown-post roof to nave of 3 moulded octagonal
crown-posts on moulded tie-beams with solid brackets to pendant posts.
Ashlar-pieces and trenched sous-laces. Fittings: restored scroll-moulded
string to chancel. Moulded stone corbel with carved head to each side of
east window. Pointed-arched beaded piscina to south-east end of north aisle.
C15 octagonal dressed stone font with concave sides and shield. Late C13
wooden chest with 5 panels of blank geometrical bar tracery and beasts added
to end panels. Royal Arms to north wall of north aisle, dated 1834. C19
box pews. Monuments: brass on chancel floor to John Verien, d.1370; half
figure of a priest. Brass, also on chancel floor, to Anne Muston, d. 1496,
with angel bearing her heart. Brass in north aisle to Thomas Brokhill, d.
1437, and wife; figures of knight and lady. Tablet on west wall of nave
to Thomas Tourney, d. 1712, and others (last died 1788), moulded plinth on
consoles, with moulded frieze, panelled pilasters and moulded triangular
pediment, with urn, draped skull and shield. Similar tablet to Mary Tourney,
d. early C19, and others, Tablet on north wall of north aisle, to Thomas
Tourney, d. 1810, by T. King, Bath; white marble on gadrooned base, fluted
borders and reeded cornice, surmounted by draped urn and shield on black
marble gound. (J. Newman, B.0.E.Series, North-East and East Kent, 1983).
Listing NGR: TR1563836246
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.