Church of St Mary, Norton, Buckland and Stone
Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 24 January 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 176457
OS Grid Reference: TQ9677661100
OS Grid Coordinates: 596776, 161100
Latitude/Longitude: 51.3150, 0.8222
Location: Norton, Kent ME9 9JU
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Norton, Buckland and Stone, Kent at Explore Britain.
TQ 96 SE NORTON AND BUCKLAND
1/51 Church of
Parish church. C12 to C14. Tower repaired C18, restored and
porch added 1872. Flint, in part rendered, with tufa quoins,
red brick buttresses and plain tiled roof. Chancel, nave,
west tower and south porch. Tower with brick buttresses, keyed
brick belfry lights and battlements. Overlapping plank door
with strap-hinges with veined decoration in chamfered doorways
and C14 timbered porch. C14 trefoil headed lancet windows with
ogee surrounds and partly restored C13 triple lancet windows
with ogee doorway. Interior: Nave and chancel roofed as one
with scissor braced roof. C19 cruck-type wooden chancel arch.
Reveals of blocked C13 and C12 lancets in nave and chancel.
Chancel east window with triple headed but continuous drip
mould. C19 altar rail and fittings. Monuments: in Chancel,
Baptist Piggot, d.1677. Grey Marble wall plaque, with scrolled
and garlanded sides, on base with consoles and swags. Scrolled
pediment over with cartouche. Benjamin Godfrey, d.1704 (son-
in-law of Baptist Piggot) wall tablet. Urn at top with gar-
lands, on plinth, with plaque below supported by weeping putti
either side. Gadrooned base to plaque on coved cornice on
foliated consoles. Below, the inscription on a cloth, gathered
up and hung from erupting palm fronds. Later inscription to
Reverend William Lushington (d.1842) on upper plaque. In the
nave: Right Hon. Mary Elizabeth Lady Sondes, d.1818, by
Jonathan Seward. White wall plaque, a robed woman rising
through clouds to blazing sun, directed by winged angels,
with Hebrew characters and various symbols - apple tree,
flaming torch, bag of gold, eagle, deaths head and cornucopia.
George Finch, d.1584. White hanging monument. Gadrooned and
fluted surround to inscription on coved and gadrooned base.
Corinthian columns carry frieze, modillion eaves cornice
and achievement. Charles Tassel, d.1763. White and yellow
wall plaque, with scrolled and garlanded sides with triple
projecting cornice and base with winged head.
(See BOE Kent II 1983, 408)
Listing NGR: TQ9701860488
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.