Church of St Michael, Hernhill
Description: Church of St Michael
Date Listed: 24 January 1967
English Heritage Building ID: 176734
OS Grid Reference: TR0649160680
OS Grid Coordinates: 606491, 160680
Latitude/Longitude: 51.3078, 0.9612
Location: Church Hill, Hernhill, Kent ME13 9JR
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Hernhill, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 06 SE HERNHILL HERNHILL GREEN
24.1.67 St. Michael
Parish Church. C15. Chancel rebuilt 1833, restored 1867; nave restored 1877. Chancel, north chapel, nave with aisles and south east chapel,
western tower and north porch. Flint and plain tiled roof. Two stage
western tower with plinth, string course, cornice and battlements with
four times offset diagonal buttresses and south-eastern octagonal stair
turret. Double hollow chamfered western doorway. Roll and hollow chamfer
north porch doorway with rib and stud door, and interior doorway with
hollow chamfer and octagonal attached shafts. Perpendicular C15 tracery
throughout, part restored. Stone over east window with inscription:
Interior: double hollow chamfered tower arch and attached shafts with
octagonal capitals. Three bay nave arcade with slim shafts in clusters of
4, with moulded capitals and bases. Double hollow chamfered arcade deeply
undercut. Chamfered doorway to stair turret. Roof of 4 crown posts, the
end 2 with shortened posts. North aisle with corbel table, cornice and
rafter roof, south aisle with roof of 3 crown posts. No chancel arch.
Moulded archway through the south east chapel. C19 arch to north (Dawes)
chapel. Fitting: four centred arched doors and stair to missing rood
left. C15 screen of 5 bays with traceried bays attached shafts and
crocketted ogee surrounds, and C19 top section. Chamfered piscina and
aumbrey in south aisle. C18 brass chandelier of 12 sticks. Glass: South
aisle, C18 window heads, and 3 painted panels, the storey of Joseph, signed
C. Handley, 1836 (the Vicar's wife]. In the churchyard are buried John
Nichols Thom alias Sir William Courteney, and 6 of his followers, all
killed in the Courteney Riots of 1838. (See B.O.E. Kent II, 1983, 391).
Listing NGR: TR0656060805
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.