Description: Church of All Saints
Date Listed: 11 October 1963
English Heritage Building ID: 177914
OS Grid Reference: TR2695753594
OS Grid Coordinates: 626957, 153594
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2364, 1.2499
Explore more of the area around Goodnestone, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 25 SE
Church of All
Parish Church. C12, with C14 and C15 fenestration. Restored 1871 by G.G. Scott.
Flint, in part coursed and set herring bone fashion, with plain tiled roof
and shingled tower and spirelet. Chancel nave and western bell tower and
north porch. Identical C15 two light Perpendicular windows and ogee headed
fenestration elsewhere, with exposed blocked head of C12 windows in chancel
north wall. C19 half-timbered north porch, the doorway with C19 or C20
attached shafts and tympanum carved with lamb and flag, original C12 billet
moulded head with zigzag drip mould, with C12 roll and wave moulded south
doorway. Chancel stepped in from nave, with interior frame for bell turret
at west end of church, with arcaded base, ogee braced trusses. Roof of
4 crown posts. Fittings: ogee headed piscina and shelved aumbrey in chancel.
Screen, of 1871, large with 3 ogee headed bays. Pulpit, C17, octagonal
with fluted pillar stem and fluted frieze to plain panel sides, supported
on carved brackets. Tester with drops at the corners, and panelled backboard.
C19 or C20 handrail on turned balusters. Glass: fragments of Medieval
glass in window heads. Monument to George Mutter, d. 1813. White pedimented
wall tablet on black background, signed T.Milnes (of London). (See B.O.E.
Kent II, 1983, 276).
Listing NGR: TR2710053528
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.