Church of St Mary, Nonington
Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 11 October 1963
English Heritage Building ID: 178014
OS Grid Reference: TR2530752348
OS Grid Coordinates: 625307, 152348
Latitude/Longitude: 51.2258, 1.2255
Location: Old Court Hill, Nonington, Kent CT15 4LQ
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Nonington, Kent at Explore Britain.
NONINGTON PINNERS LANE
TR 25 SE
3/153 Church of St.Mary
Parish church. Late C13, restored 1867 (Ewan Christian), and 1887. Flint
with plain tiled roof. Nave and chancel with north chapel and north aisle
with north west tower and north porch. Two stage tower with string course
and battlements. Nave west front with simple chamfered doorway, 3 light
Perpendicular window and offset angle buttresses. C19 fenestration elsewhere
except 1 lancet in nave and 2 each in chancel and chapel and triple lancet
East windows to both chancels, with ogee headed C15 windows to north aisle.
Irregularly placed buttresses throughout. C19 north porch with hollow
and roll moulded north doorway with attached shafts. Interior; west end of
nave with line of corbels and carved head and blocked arch to tower. Continuous
arcade from nave and chancel to north aisle and chapel, 3 bays in the nave
2 in the chancel, with round piers with moulded bases and capitals and
double chamfered arches. The western respond sits on a fine carved head.
Nave roof with 3 crown posts. The wall thickens by the chancel arch with
a rood loft passage to the north aisle. Broad double chamfered chancel
arch on lozenge shaped pier with deeply rebated lancet at east end of nave.
Trussed rafter roof in chancel. Lancets in chancel originally on continuous
string course with moulded hoods over, heavily altered. Deep, tall eastern
lancets. North aisle and chapel with simple double chamfered dividing arch.
Long roof to aisle with only 2 crown posts and 3 in chapel. Fittings; stop
chamfered piscina in chancel. C19 fittings, lectern, pulpit, altar rails,
marble reredos of 1891 with tiled inscription plaques. Mutilated moulded
elliptical wall recess in north chapel, now with ogee headed window in back
wall. Simple font with octagonal bowl on round stem, dated: I N . Glass;
C15 fragments in a north aisle window. Monuments; C19 series of black and
white wall tablets in the chancel to the Hammond family and in the north
chapel to the Plumptre family, none of any note except that to Elizabeth
Plumptre,d.1816,a plain white sarcophagus shaped field on guilloched base
with draped urn over, and Christopher Pemberton,d.1822 of 'Tic Doulereux'
(trigeminal neuralgia),a white and black tablet with acroteria, pediment
and palm fronds and coats of arms. Small marble plaque on chancel east wall
with brass shield and inscription to William Simpson,d.1581, 'vice Marchell
of Calys'. Anthony Field, C17,black and white marble wall tablet with Latin
and English verses pregnant with puns on the name Field,with scrolled apron
with winged cherubs and ribband enriched side pieces with broken pediment,
strapwork and skulls. Two wall tablets in the north aisle, both C17 and both
illegible, the one with scrolled and bracketed apron and side pieces to
cornice with cartouche and arms medallion over, the other with scrolled
apron with oak leaf decoration and 2 cherbub heads with enriched Corinthian
pilasters to cornice with arched headed inscription plaque. Four lozenge
shaped hatchments of Hammond family in the chancel. The church was a
chapelry of Wingham until1282, then refounded as a benefice for Wingham
College (seeB.0.E. Kent 1983,404;seealso A.Sutton, Nonington,1975).
Listing NGR: TR2534252361
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.