Description: Stourmouth House
Date Listed: 13 October 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 178280
OS Grid Reference: TR2659162615
OS Grid Coordinates: 626591, 162615
Latitude/Longitude: 51.3175, 1.2503
Explore more of the area around Stourmouth, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 26 SE STOURMOUTH EAST STOURMOUTH
2/248 Stourmouth House
House. Early C18 front to C16 rear wing. Plum brick with red brick
dressings on main front. Timber framed with brick infill and slate cladding
on rear wing. Roof slated on front slope with plain tiled rear slope and
rear wing. Two storeys and attic on plinth with plat band with moulded
modillion eaves cornice. Central projecting block with brick quoins and
pediment. Hipped roof with 2 flat roofed dormers and stacks to left, to
right and to centre rear. Regular fenestration with pointed headed glazing
bar sash in pediment, with 5 glazing bar sashes, the centre 3 in pedimented
central black and 2 wooden casements at end left and at end right on first
floor, and 6 on ground floor with gauged heads. Central door of 8 raised and
fielded panels with segmental pediment on fluted pilasters with moulded
entablature raised to centre. Glazed conservatory on left return.
Interior: entrance hall with dado panelling and keyed elliptical headed
doorways with pilasters with raised entablature blocks. Ceiling joists with
tongued chamfers. Flagstone floor. Staircase: wreathed, moulded and ramped
handrail on turned balusters with square base knops and fluted principals, on
open string with carved brackets. Ramped raised and fielded dado panelling.
Open well plan. Some moulded dado and cornice rails in other downstairs
rooms. Principal upstairs rooms with raised and fielded panelling, the rear
walls with panelling stepped forward as if jettied into room. Exposed
upright timbers of rear timber framed wing in these rooms. Cellar with brick
arched niches, and barrel vaulted cellar. Rear wing with exposed timber frame,
C16 or early C17 stop chamfered joists. C17 newel stair with wavy splat
balusters. Much re-used timber from older wing in roof structure (clasped
purlins). Several names are carved in bricks by the main entrance, especially
of Thomas Dowker, and -- Harrison, 1754 (see B.O.E. Kent II).1983, 470).
Listing NGR: TR2659162615
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.