Langdon Abbey, Langdon
Description: Langdon Abbey
Date Listed: 27 August 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 178468
OS Grid Reference: TR3263446960
OS Grid Coordinates: 632634, 146960
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1745, 1.3267
Location: Langdon, Kent CT15 5HJ
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
There is also a scheduled monument, Premonstratensian Monastery and Associated Fishponds at West Langdon, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Langdon, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 34 NW LANGDON LANGDON ABBEY
2/29 Langdon Abbey
House. C12, C16 and late C17 altered mid C19. Built for Thornhill family
on remains of Premonstratensian priory. Red brick in irregular Flemish,
stretcher bond and English bond, with flint and dressed stone sections to
rear. Plain tiled roof. Entrance front; late C17, 2 storeys and basement
with plinth,plat band and boxed eaves to hipped roof, with stacks to
left, centre left and to right. C19 fenestration, regular to right hand
of elevations, with 2 tripartite sashes and central segmentally headed
sash, and 2 tripartite sashes on ground floor with central door
of 6 panels with semi-circular fanlight in rendered rusticated surround.
The left hand portion has 1 sash on each floor in blocked larger window
openings, and door of 4 raised and fielded panels with simple architrave.
Four segmentally headed basement openings. Rear elevation: L-shaped 2
storey hipped structure in English bond with brick arcading of giant
pilasters carried across whole facade and projecting wing. The main wing
with keyed and blocked arches on ground floor, now filled in, so as to
form 3 bay portico effect, an unusually advanced classical feature in the
east Kent Artisan Mannerist vocabulary. Projecting from the left hand
projecting wing is 1 storey extension of stone blocks with galleting,
the return wall of this wing is rebuilt in C18 brickwork. Interior:
rear wings with large scantling joists. Chamfered and stopped with quirk
and tongue. Some fitted cupboards and doors with raised and fielded
panelling, most features date from mid C19. Cellars: the undercroft of
the cellarium of the C12 abbey form the basis of the C17 cellars,
including a barrel vaulted slype with finely gauged chalk, webbing, the
main range at right angles to this, with the springers for groin vaults
surviving, with chamfered arched and round headed stone doorways. Domed
bread oven C18 survives in stone end wing. Langdon Abbey was founded by
William d'Auberville of Westernhanger 1189-1192 for white canons from
Leyston Suffolk. Dedicated to St. Mary and St. Thomas the Martyr, the
Abbey (strictly only a priory) had an uneventful history until dissolution
in 1535. A house was built by Samuel Thornhill after 1590 and extended
by his successors until 1700, when sold to Waldershare estate. The church
and conventual remains lay east of the house, excavated and back
covered 1882 by Sir William St. John Hope. (See Arch Cant. 15, 1883;
Hasted, IX; BOE Kent II 1983, 369).
Listing NGR: TR3263446960
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.