Church of St Mary, Capel-le-Ferne
Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 22 August 1962
English Heritage Building ID: 178555
OS Grid Reference: TR2571140018
OS Grid Coordinates: 625711, 140018
Latitude/Longitude: 51.1150, 1.2235
Location: Capel-le-Ferne, Kent CT18 7EX
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Capel-le-Ferne, Kent at Explore Britain.
TR 24 SE CAPEL-LE-FERNE
4/26 Church of
Parish Church, now redundant. C12, with C13 tower and alterations. C14
screen and porch. C15 fenestration. Restored 1890. Flint with plain tiled
roof. Nave, chancel, west tower and south porch. Two stage west tower with
double offset angle buttresses, 2 string courses and parapet. West doorway
with slight billet moulded chamfered arch. C15 fenestration throughout,
with head only of C14 light in north nave with quatrefoils, and small C12
round headed lancet, also in north nave wall. Large, plain gabled C14
porch. Interior: remarkably unrestored; simple chamfered tower arch on
coved abaci, and C13 roof of 3 crown posts. C 14 stone screen to chancel,
with large round-headed chamfered opening high in wall (against which the
rood cross was originally silhouetted), and below a 3 bay arcade with
octagonal piers with moulded capitals and bases and double hollow chamfered
and roll moulded arches, and drip mould or carved head corbels. Four
moulded corbels set above the arcade originally supported the rood screen,
with extra light from the C14 window in north nave wall, only the head of
which survives. Chancel, with simple treatment to screen, and roof of 3
crown posts on moulded wall plate. Fittings: large moulded corbels on east
on north chancel walls, with semi-circular aumbrey on north wall. Simple
chamfered sedile with depressed arch, and trefoil headed piscina with
Bethersden marble angle shaft, a C13 fitting. Reveal of C12 nave window with
painted foliage decoration. Fragments of medieval glass in East window.
Octagonal font on hollow chamfered octagonal stem. Brass: Reset on wooden
wall plaque in chancel. John Gybbis, d.1526, and Margritt his wife. Foot
high figures, with shield over and 4 children below. White marble wall
plaque to General Sir Charles William Dunbar Staveley, d.1896 veteran of
Crimean and Chinese wars, with sarcophagus draped with battle honours and
sword. (See BOE Kent II, 1983, 262).
Listing NGR: TR2532939637
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.