Church of St Margaret, Addington
Description: Church of St Margaret
Date Listed: 25 August 1959
English Heritage Building ID: 179193
OS Grid Reference: TQ6538558879
OS Grid Coordinates: 565385, 158879
Latitude/Longitude: 51.3050, 0.3712
Location: The Close, Addington, Kent ME19 5BL
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Addington, Kent at Explore Britain.
ADDINGTON CP PARK ROAD
TQ 65 NE
Church of St Margaret
Church. Circa 1100, c.1300, c.1400 with C16 alterations and additions and
restoration of 1858. Ragstone, some herringbone. West tower, nave, south
porch, chancels and north and south chancel chapels. 3-stage embattled west
tower with diagonal buttresses and octagonal south-east stair turret. Circa 1470
with 2-light belfry openings, single light west window below and large 3-light
window above door. 2-bay nave with C15 and C19 windows, but some herringbone
walling high on south wall and all original quoins. Gabled north porch with C16
decorated wooden bargeboard. Gabled chancel chapels, originally a pair, the
north rebuilt in 1858. Interior: Boarded and painted wagon roof. C14 chancel
arch. Aumbry in south chapel. Brasses: Richard Charlis d.1378. William Snayth
d.1408. Armoured figure, c.1415. Armoured figure, c.1445. Thomas Chaworth,
after 1446. Robert Watton, d.1470. Monument to unknown parson, d.1651.
Alabaster with black torch, marble side columns. Open segmental pedimented
aedicule, with smaller one in pediment. 2 large inscriptions with relief busts
in ovals below. 2 groups of children and 3 more inscriptions in base. 4 pairs
of clasping hands and 4 armorial bearings in spine of monument.
Listing NGR: TQ6530458877
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.