The Sir John Moore Church of Englans School, Appleby Magna
Description: The Sir John Moore Church of Englans School
Date Listed: 16 December 1952
English Heritage Building ID: 187906
OS Grid Reference: SK3137209146
OS Grid Coordinates: 431372, 309146
Latitude/Longitude: 52.6791, -1.5374
Location: Top Street, Appleby Magna, Leicestershire DE12 7AH
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Appleby Magna, Leicestershire at Explore Britain.
APPLEBY MAGNA TOP STREET (east side)
SK 30 NW
6/17 The Sir John Moore
School, 1697. Architect: Sir William Wilson. Red brick with stone
dressings, quoins, string courses and leaded mullion and transom windows.
Stone cornice and brick and stone parapet hides C20 roofing material replacing
lead. Central section of 2 storeys and 5 windows recessed behind arcade of
less than 1 storey. 2 crossing side wings of 2 windows each, 3 storeys, on
stone plinth containing basement. Arcade of five round arches with stone
dressings, floor flags and cornice. Within, a round arched central doorway
up 5 semi-circular stone steps. Round headed oak door of 8 fielded panels
in two leaves. Above 5 tall windows with alternating segmental and triangular
pediments. Upper floor has five circular windows, the centre containing a
clock dial. 2 pairs of tall rectangular brick stacks, axially placed above
inner wall of wings. Large central circular wood and leaded-light lantern
with dome and ball finial. On roof the clock bell inscribed I.S. 1585.
On right front a c1900 2 storey and basement wing in similar style.
Otherwise original windows as on left front. Left front of 5 windows
and central doorway with bolection moulded surround, 2-light fanlight over
and cornice on consoles. Later doorway to left. Doors reached by platform
and 2 sets of stone steps with stone wall and entry to basement below. Rear
copies front facade but for C18/19 red brick one storey addition of four
windows in recessed central section. Arcade cornice re-used. To left a
C19extruded red brick -stair turret with original tall windows re-inserted.
Ground floor of this original with left arch of arcade re-used as glazed
doorway. Interior: Great Hall fills centre part and is plain but for
oak-panelled dado carved with scholars names and dates and on left wall a
niche the segmental pediment of which contains the Moore arms in a cartouche.
Within a life-sized hatted statue by Wilson of Sir John Moore in Alderman's
dress, the niche being flanked by pilasters ornamented with carvings of
the City mace and sword. Pedestal of statue bears a plaque inscribed "To
the memory of Sir John Moore, Knight and Alderman of the City of London,
who erected this School A.D. 1697, and endowed the same for ye education
of ye male children of the parishes and towns of Appleby, Norton, Austrey,
Newton-in-ye-Thistles, Stretton-in-ye-Field, Mesham, Snarston, Chilcot
and by ye statutes made A.D. 1706 it was made free for all England". Below
either side stone bolection moulded doorways. At right end a C19 gallery.
Listing NGR: SK3137209146
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.