Description: Ingarsby Old Hall and Chapel and Garden Wall
Date Listed: 19 October 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 190691
OS Grid Reference: SK6852205362
OS Grid Coordinates: 468522, 305362
Latitude/Longitude: 52.6417, -0.9888
There is also a scheduled monument, Moated Site and Deserted Medieval Village at Old Ingarsby, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around Hungarton, Leicestershire at Explore Britain.
SK 60 NE
19.10.51 Ingarsby Old Hall and Chapel
and Garden Wall
Country house. Late C15 and C16 - C18, dated 1706, with C19/C20 alterations.
Ashlar with plinth of coursed rubble stone in part and Swithland slate roofs
partly twin span and of Welsh slate to rear. Brick end stacks. Stone coped
gables in part. L plan, the late C15 range projecting forwards on left, a
1930's linking range between it and main range. Main range of 2½ storeys
and basement of 3 C20 mullion and transom windows with leaded lights : 3-light,
1-light, 3-light. On ground floor a similar 3-light either side a central
gabled stone porch. Doorway with 2-leaved door up 3 stone steps. 1-light
over. Basement window to right. 2 2-light hipped dormers. On right end a
1 storey extension with 2 2-light stone mullion windows. A 2 storey extension
to the rear, with 2-light hipped dormer. To the left of the main range the
linking range. A pair of 2-light stone mullion and transom windows with above,
and set back, a 3-light stone mullion window. The late C15 range is of 2 1/2
storeys of stone mullion windows with hood moulds. The leaded lights have
Tudor arched heads. On facing gable a 3-light both floors, the lower blocked.
In gable a simple 2-light without hood mould. The stone coped gables of this
range have kneelers and finials. On right inner return 2 3-lights on both
floors with central ground floor 1-light. Doorway to left. Similar windows
and massive projecting stone stack with C20 brick flue on garden front to
left. This range is called the Chapel, apparently because fragments of stained
glass were in windows in C19. However a large 1st floor fireplace with garderobe
to right suggests a domestic use. Fireplace has moulded Tudor arch. On a
window sill a loose stone brought from elsewhere and inscribed W.G. 1698 or
9 may also refer to refronting of main range. Within the main range a fireplace
with 2 Ionic pilasters and alabaster plaque over, showing arms of Cave and
Whalley and dated 1579. In central 1st floor windows are reset fragments of
probably C16 painted glass showing crowns, fleurs-de-lys and portcullis.
A garden wall of coursed squared stone, c2m high and mostly Swithland slate
coped extends from left end of wing round the garden. Ingarsby was owned
by the Lords Maynard from c1640 to the C19. White's Leicestershire and Rutland,
1846, and Pevsner.
Listing NGR: SK6852205362
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.