Description: Chapel of St Mary
Date Listed: 18 March 1987
English Heritage Building ID: 191280
OS Grid Reference: SP6464384407
OS Grid Coordinates: 464643, 284407
Latitude/Longitude: 52.4538, -1.0502
Explore more of the area around Husbands Bosworth, Leicestershire at Explore Britain.
SP68 SW THEDDINGWORTH ROAD (South
8/59 Chapel of St. Mary
Chapel. 1873 by A.J. Purdie, a pupil of Pugin. Early French Gothick style,
and strict Puginian principles. Rusticated limestone blockwork with ashlar
dressings and roof with fish scale tiles. Nave, chancel and Lady Chapel to
north. Main entrance to north west in porch with moulded arch which dies into
a straight chamfer. Statue niche below gable coping that terminates in
gablets. Lancet windows to nave. North chancel chapel with western rose
window and angle butresses, and paired trefoiled lights; This chapel
terminates in a canted apse. Chancel east window of five foiled lights with
transom contained beneath three larger lancets surmounted by a rose window.
Paired lancets to south and four foiled lancets lights to the west with rose
window above, at an upper level and smaller grouped lancets below. All the
tracery is of a spare clean design. Eastern bellcote with finial. Partially
detached vestry to south with gathered chimney. Inside the church represents
a complete expression of Puginian principles retaining all its original
detail. West gallery with copious chamfered woodwork. Steep timber trusses
to nave roof. Richly moulded chancel arch with cylindrical shafts and foliate
capitals capped by square abaci. Steep rib vaulted chancel roof with
quatrefoil lights of stained glass angels set into it. Two bay arcades to
north Lady Chapel. Rich decorative scheme throughtou. Encaustic tiles with
Turville emblems, ornate altar rails and reredos. Wall painting throughout by
romaine Walker in 1900. Gilded stencils on all walls, gilded capitals above
shafts painted in bands or chevrons of bright colours. The chancel walls are
crowded with the figures of Saints and Angels with golden halos and wings.
Stained glass by Hardman: Individual figures in each light, some as late as
the 1940's. Memorial to Francis Fortescue Turville, 1889, in the Lady
Chapel. A recumbent marble effigy.
Listing NGR: SP6464384407
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.