Description: Purril's Almshouses
Date Listed: 19 November 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 191919
OS Grid Reference: TF3973846566
OS Grid Coordinates: 539738, 346566
Latitude/Longitude: 52.9982, 0.0808
Explore more of the area around Benington, Lincolnshire at Explore Britain.
TF 34 NE BENINGTON MAIN ROAD
8/5 Purril's Almshouses
(formerly listed as
19.11.51 Almshouses by
5 almshouses. C15, rebuilt 1728, altered C20. Red brick in
Flemish bond, ashlar quoins and dressings, front range with
concrete pantile roof and brick coped partly tumbled gables, rear
range with shallow slate roof. 11 bay, single storey front range
having brick dentillated eaves, with 2 C20 doors and 9 C20
glazing bar sashes, all with segmental brick heads. Beneath the
eaves an ashlar plaque records the rebuilding in 1728 by the
Charity of Mr. Wm Porril. The side of the rear range has 4 two
light sliding sashes to ground floor and 3 similar windows to
first floor, all with brick segmental heads. In the side are 2
sections of C15 ashlar frieze of blank shields and cusped
tracery. The school and bedehouses were bequeathed by Mr.
William Purrill in his will dated 31st July 1725. Source:
Thompson, History of Boston.
Listing NGR: TF3973846566
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.