Description: Church of Saints Peter and Paul
Date Listed: 10 May 1961
English Heritage Building ID: 220026
OS Grid Reference: TG1103624888
OS Grid Coordinates: 611036, 324888
Latitude/Longitude: 52.7803, 1.1277
Explore more of the area around Salle, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TO 12 SW SALES .
4/126 Church of Saints Peter
Parish Church, built in the first half of the C15, of flint with stone dressings and
ashlar and lead roofs. West tower, north porch, south porch, nave, clerestorey, north
aisle, south aisle, north transept, south transept and chancel. 4 stage tower with
stepped angle buttresses. The last stage built circa l5ll. West door with angels
with censors in the spandrels and above a frieze With heraldry and 3 niches. 4 light
west window, elaborate traceried sound holes and 3 light bell-opening. Battlemented
flushwork parapet with crocketed finials, Porches, 2 storeyed with west stair turrets
and diagonal buttresses, and both Tieceron vaults with bosses over the ground floor,
the north with a Lierne vault over the first floor, possible a Lady Chapel. Aisles
with 4, 3-light windows between stepped buttresses. South transept with 4-light south
window, and north transept with east 3-light window. Chancel of 3 bays of 3-light
windows between buttresses and angle buttresses with 7-light east window. Clerestorey
of 6 bays of 2-light windows. All windows have Perpendicular tracery. Roofs have
battlemented flushwork parapets. 6 bay arcade, piers with 4 shafts and 4 hollows,
and moulded 4 centred arches. Roof with short arch braces, 2 purlins per side with
angels at the intersection of principals. Arch braced aisle roofs with traceried
spandrels. Transept roofs with delicate timber tracery between panels. Chancel roof
arch braced and boarded with ridge bosses. All retain some original painting. C15
ringing gallery with arched and traceried timber balustrade and crane supporting
incomplete canopy. Seven sacrament font c.1437 C15 pulpit on single octagonal stem,
adapted into a triple-decker arrangement c.1611, complete With back panel and testor.
Base of screen with traceried arches over Saints forming the back of the return stalls.
High above, remains of the canopy of Honour. Stalls have arm rests with heads, faces
and monsters, with misericords of flowers and faces. Benches with poppyheads.
original traceried doors to west, north, south and to porch staircases. Altar rails
with turned balusters c.1637. Fragments of C15 stained glass in east and south
transept windows. Several good C15 brasses commemorating the churches' patrons.
(C. L. S. Linell Salle (Church Guide) Nikolaus Pevsner The Buildings of England
Norwich and Sou+h Easts Norfolk. Richard Fawcett Salle Church. David King Salle
[Church, The Glazing. Programme 1979. Royal Archaeological Institute, Summer Meeting).
Listing NGR: TG1103624888
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.