Church of All Saints, Besthorpe
Description: Church of All Saints
Date Listed: 16 July 1958
English Heritage Building ID: 220298
OS Grid Reference: TM0657695621
OS Grid Coordinates: 606576, 295621
Latitude/Longitude: 52.5193, 1.0433
Location: Bunwell Road, Besthorpe, Norfolk NR17 2NY
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Besthorpe, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TM 09 NE BESTHORPE
2/51 CHURCH OF ALL SAINTS
Parish church. c.1320 and later, restored 1876 and 1883. Flint with ashlar
dressings and slate roofs. West tower, nave, transepts and chancel. Tower
of 3 stages on high plinth. Angle buttresses changing to diagonal in second
stage. 2-light cusped Y west window. North and south similar but blocked
with knapped flint c.1450 when repairs carried out. Partly blocked circular
cusped ringing chamber windows to north and south probably C15 as interior
shows arched windows originally intended. Reduced belfry stage pierced by
restored 2-light Y windows below parapet. Gabled south porch with chamfer
and hollow exterior mouldings. Plinth of apex cross remains. Finely moulded
inner jambs and rectangular splayed side lights. One C19 Y window to nave
with tracery of piled trefoils. South transept has string course below windows
continuous and nave and chancel. Angle buttresses. 2-light cusped Y windows
to east and west, the latter blocked as tower. South window is of 3 lights
with mouchette tracery. High gabled roof. Chancel sides have 3 3-light
intersecting cusped windows with flat buttress between eastern pair. Low
priest's door to south. Angle buttresses at east frame 5-light mouchette
east window of 1876 below low coped parapet. String course continues round
north. Cusped 2-light Y traceried window to east wall of north transept.
3-light intersecting north window. North nave window as south. Gabled C19
vestry with angle buttresses and 2-light window with Y tracery and piled
trefoils. INTERIOR Double chamfered tower arch and stilled rere arches over
north and south doors. All windows have internal shafting. Transept arches
carried on polygonal responds with capitals, the arches themselves chamfered
and with hollows below hoods on head stops. South transept contains one walI
niche either side of east window with rising buttresses and ogee or straight
gables crocketted with finials. Similar piscina in south wall. South-east
pier has a statutory niche. Chancel arch hollow chamfered. Chancel sedilia
and piscina in continuous 6-gabled range, the gables containing cusped ogee
arches with ogeed trefoils fitting the spandrels. Crockets and finials.
Chancel north wall has tomb of Sir William Drury of 1640 usually attributed
to Gerard Christmas. Altar pedestal has predella containing alabaster carvings
of 2 of Drury's children with a skull. Sir William reclines on rolled up
mat separated by pair of Tuscan columns from his wife to the left kneeling,
and 3 children to the right, kneeling. All figures alabaster. Semi-circular
niche above effigy bears inscription and is crowned by achievement with coat
of arms in shield. Architraves break forward right and left to meet columns
and are finished by oval medallions with laurel surround. All roofs C19
scissor braced. Fragments of C15 glass. Chancel screen 1931.
Listing NGR: TM0657695621
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.