Description: Gateley Hall
Date Listed: 4 December 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 220490
OS Grid Reference: TF9587623918
OS Grid Coordinates: 595876, 323918
Latitude/Longitude: 52.7773, 0.9026
There is also a scheduled monument with a similar name, Earthworks N of Gateley Hall, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This is probably the same structure or related to it in some way.
Explore more of the area around Gateley, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TF 92 SE GATELEY
5/35 Gateley Hall
Country House. Datestone on right hand gable of south front recorded as
reading "Built by Elizabeth Segrave 12 of (illegible) 1726", now invisible
from ground. Rear pile probably Cl?. Mid and late C18 improvements. Brick
partly limewashed, flint in earlier block and black and red pantiled roofs.
Double pile plan. 2 storeys with attic and cellar. Symmetrical 5 bay facade
of sash windows with narrow glazing bars beneath skewback arches. Chequer
pattern brickwork of vitrified headers discernible despite remaining limewash.
Doric doorcase probably of 1726 with fluted pilasters, triglyph frieze and
pediment. Partly glazed 2-leaf door with Y-traceried rectangular fanlight.
Platbands, plain parapet and 3 flat-headed dormers. Double curved gables
with internal stacks to north and south. Large datestone and similarly shaped
angled sundial on south gables. Irregular rear facade containing much C17
masonry and with various additions including a fine late C18 2-storeyed semi-
circular bay with 6 sash windows with glazing bars beneath skewback arches.
Some early sash windows with wide glazing bars elsewhere. Parapet and one
flat-headed dormer. Interior. 1726 half-turn - stair with landings. Turned
attenuated vase balusters, shaped tread-ends and wide swept handrail. 3
rooms with raised and fielded panelling. Several raised and fielded panelled
doors all retaining original locks and fittings. 2fine doorcases at ground
floor, in hall Doric with fluted pilasters triglyph frieze and broken pediment,
in Dining room with broken pediment and eared arachitrave. Improvements
of c.1750 include several carved and moulded fireplaces and more importantly
exceptional Rococo plasterwork in the hall. The overmantel has an idyllic
rustic landscape showing shepherds and animals, houses, a church spire and
boldly projecting trees; the whole within an elaborate frame and forming
part of the whole chimneypiece with an elaborately moulded fireplace frieze
and flanking recesses with semi-domes. Smaller landscape between 2 facade
windows depicting an Antique ruin with broken columns and an obelisk. 3
figures:- of a man dressed in a toga, a shepherd with his sheep and a woman
in a windswept dress holding her hat on. Very elaborate mirror on opposite
wall consisting of many small glass facets surrounded by Rococo scrolls and
flamboyant vegetation. Moulded ceiling compartments and bridging joists.
Plaster eagle on ceiling of stair vestibule. More usual Rococo plaster
ceilings in Dining room and stair well. G. Naresl, Country Life September,
1954. Grade I for exceptional quality and rarity of Rococo plasterwork.
Listing NGR: TF9587623918
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.