Description: Elsing Mill Including Wheel House and Wheel Adjoining East
Date Listed: 20 August 1991
English Heritage Building ID: 220747
OS Grid Reference: TG0498717690
OS Grid Coordinates: 604987, 317690
Latitude/Longitude: 52.7180, 1.0336
Explore more of the area around Elsing, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
The following item shall be added:
TG 01 NE ELSING MILL STREET
3/41 Elsing Mill
including Wheel House
and wheel adjoining
Water Mill, converted into a house. 1809, converted in late C20.
Painted brick and weatherboarded timber frame on second floor.
Pantile roof with shaped barge boards to gable ends. Brick gable
end stacks. L-shaped on plan with wing at rear of right hand end
(SW) wheel house at left (east) end and outshut on right (west)
end. 3 storeys and attic. 4 window north front with C20 casement
windows, those on ground floor and first floor are segmentally
headed openings. Doorway at centre, another on first floor to
right. Gabled hoist housing cantilevered out to right of centre
above eaves. Single storey weatherboarded wheelhouse on left
(east) end with painted brick gable end and pantile roof; at
rear the wheelhouse has 2 windows with boarded shutters and plank
door to left. At rear of main mill building the wing on right has
gable end. INTERIOR: unchamfered cross-beams on hanging knee
braces. Some timber framing exposed at rear end and on second
floor. Tenoned (or butt) purlin roofs but over main range the
purlins are missing. All machinery has been removed except for
sluice gates and gearing in rear wing and in the wheel-house
low-breast undershot treble wheel with cast iron naves, arms and
rings and wooden shaft and floats survive intact.
Note: Built in 1809 as a paper mill on the site of an earlier
mill. In 1834 or before it became a corn and seed crushing mill
and was the Bylaugh estate mill before it was sold in 1917. Water
power was replaced by electricity in circa 1930's and later
stones were replaced by a hammer mill. Machinery was taken out
when it was converted into a house in the late C20. Situated on
Listing NGR: TG0498717690
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.