Description: Lynford Hall
Date Listed: 3 November 1975
English Heritage Building ID: 220974
OS Grid Reference: TL8195394110
OS Grid Coordinates: 581953, 294110
Latitude/Longitude: 52.5145, 0.6800
Explore more of the area around Lynford, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TL 89 SW LYNFORD
8/27 Lynford Hall
Hotel and country club. Completed 1862; refurbished and reduced after fire
of 1928. Architect: William Burns. Brick with ashlar dressings and slate
roofs. Jacobean style of irregular plan. Main block. 2 storeys with attics
and cellars. Asymmetrical entrance facade with central advanced wing with
an arched doorway and semicircular fanlight. Elaborate open porch on a pair
of Roman Doric columns with open strapwork decoration above. Surmounted
by a canted bay also with strapwork. Topped with an extremely elaborate
curved gable incorporating a Venetian window, family arms, obelisk finials
and an open-topped segmental pediment. Stone 2-, 3- and 4-light ovolo
moulded mullion and transom windows throughout. To left of entrance an
octagonal corner turret, a first floor oriel window and 2 dormer windows
set into curved attic gables. To right of entrance a first floor balcony
with stone arcaded railings. End bay slightly advanced with curved gable
and square corner turret. Arcaded open parapets, moulded stringcourses,
raised shaped ashlar quoins and moulded chimney shafts. Symmetrical garden
facade of 7 bays, the central 5 bays with 2-light mullion and transom
windows, a central glazed door and a row of dummy dormer windows in stone
connected by an open parapet and adorned with elaborate gables and obelisk
finials. End bays slightly advanced with further advancement to ground and
first floors. 4-light mullion and transom windows and curvilinear gables.
East block razed except for basement after fire of 1928.
Listing NGR: TL8195394110
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.