Description: Church of St Mary the Virgin
Date Listed: 5 June 1953
English Heritage Building ID: 221555
OS Grid Reference: TF7652736976
OS Grid Coordinates: 576527, 336976
Latitude/Longitude: 52.9012, 0.6232
Explore more of the area around Docking, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TF 7636 DOCKING CHURCH PLACE (west)
SEDGEFORD ROAD (north)
5.6.53. Church of St. Mary
Parish church. C14 chancel, C15 nave and tower, north additions 1875. Flint
with stone dressings, green slate roofs. West tower, nave and south porch,
north aisle, chancel with north chapel and south vestry. Fine C15 4 stage
tower with stone plinth, dado and parapet string courses. Ashlar dressed
angle buttresses with 6 set-offs and battlements. Perpendicular west door
with moulded frame and hood mould. 3-light west window above, 3 2-light
tracery headed windows in stage, 4 3-light tracery head windows in bell
chamber. Nave south has 3 3-light Perpendicular windows. 4 ashlar dressed
buttresses with 2 set-offs. C15 south porch has angle buttresses with 2
set-offs, moulded recut C19 arch, colonnettes with moulded bases and capitals.
2 stone ogee headed niches with pedestals and miniature vaults. North and
south return 2-light Perpendicular windows with brick headers to arches.
3-bay north aisle, High Victorian Gothic Decorated details, 1875 by Frederick
Preedy, restoration architect. C14 chancel has 2 'Y' tracery south windows,
one brick south window. Mid C19 south vestry addition also forms private porch
entry from Docking Hall (q.v.). East gable angle buttresses. 5-light recut
C19 Reticulated tracery east window has unrecut C14 label moulding with label
stop heads and ogee cresting finial. Chancel roof lowered in mid C19, earlier
pitch visible on nave east gable. North additions to chancel 1875. Interior:
wide nave, 4 bay north arcade, north aisles and roofs, 1875. Perpendicular
tower arch. Internal reveal to tower west door, internal tower stairs door
and brick stairs at north west. C14 or C15 octagonal stone font with chamfered
base, 8 standing female figures with children and other iconography against
octagonal stem, 4 mutilated angle beasts, carved and figured coving section
above with Evangelists' symbols, roses and angels. Octagonal bowl has seated
liturgically vested figures of priests, deacons, bishops and doctors perhaps
representing the Seven Sacraments. Figures also identified as SS Andrew,
John and Apollonia. Panels divided by miniature buttresses and framed by
crocketted ogee niches with miniature vaults. Chancel arch 1875. 2 light
C14 Decorated former north chancel window now opens into north vestry.
Elizabethan Jesuit Martyr St. Henry Walpole baptised here in 1558.
Listing NGR: TF7652736976
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.