Description: Stanhoe Hall
Date Listed: 5 June 1953
English Heritage Building ID: 221580
OS Grid Reference: TF7999736991
OS Grid Coordinates: 579997, 336991
Latitude/Longitude: 52.9002, 0.6747
Explore more of the area around Stanhoe, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TF 83 NW STANHOE DOCKING ROAD (north)
4/48 Stanhoe Hall (formerly
5.6.53. listed as Stanhoe
Hall and Stabling)
House. 1703. Built as a present from her father Sir Thomas Turner on Jane
Turner's marriage to Thomas Archdale, perhaps by Henry Bell of King's Lynn,
architect. Thomas Kempe of Stanhoe also recorded as stone mason. Flemish
bond red brick, ashlar dressings, tiled roof. 2 storeys with attics. 7 bays,
double pile on plan under single depth hipped roof. Entrance front has three
projecting central bays, 2 flanking bays. 6 ground and 7 first floor 8-pane
height sashes with glazing bars set in ashlar architrave surrounds with sills.
Stone doorcase of Baroque inspiration has outer pilaster strips, console
brackets and bolection moulding frieze supporting cornice and broken segmental
pediment. Inner architrave has lugged ears. 6-panel raised and fielded 2-leaf
outer doors, part glazed 2-leaf inner doors. Moulded stone plinth string
course,-- first floor platband, raised and chamfered end quoins. Moulded wooden
eaves with simplified projecting modillion cornice supporting deep eaves.
projection with guttering. 3 replacement pedimented 2 light casement dormers.
Hipped roof with 2 stacks only to central flat valley. Attached at east single
storey orangery addition c.1840. 3 fixed sashes with glazing bars, one 2-leaf
glazed door, all with fanlight glazing bar heads under semi-circular rubbed
brick arches with stone drip moulds. Stone dentil eaves cornice. Brick curtain
wall of same build with end quoins to east marks base of demolished former
service wing. West garden front has single ground floor part glazed door,
one first floor sash with glazing bars, ashlar architrave surrounds.
Rectangular brick and ashlar bow window addition c.1840 to north has 3 west,
one north and south sashes with glazing bars. Stone cornice and balustrade
above. North front has single projecting central bay, 3 flanking north and
south bays. 6 ground floor 9-pane height and 7 first floor 8-pane height sashes
with glazing bars, all with ashlar architrave surrounds. Central doorcase
with ashlar architrave and pediment, glazed door. Ashlar plinth string and
first floor platband continued round all facades. Interior: central south
stone flagged hall with panelling and bolection moulding fireplace. 2 panelled
rooms to north. Half-turn staircase with landings. Simple strings, 3 turned
barley sugar balusters per tread, panelled dado. Central east-west axis ground
and first floor corridors divide the two piles. First floor has 3 north and
3 south panelled rooms, some with bolection moulding fireplaces. Raised and
fielded doors with brass furniture throughout. Service stairs at east have
ribbon pattern balusters from first floor landing upwards. Rigid symmetry
of double pile plan on ground and first floor suggests hand of Bell, much
employed by Sir Thomas Turner and his family. See H.M. Colvin Biographical
Dictionary of English Architects 1600-1840 (1978) p.105. Country Life 15 and
29, September 1966.
Listing NGR: TF7999736991
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.