Description: Remains of Gatehouse of Cluniac Priory of St Mary and St Peter and St Paul
Date Listed: 13 April 1987
English Heritage Building ID: 221878
OS Grid Reference: TF8136414940
OS Grid Coordinates: 581364, 314940
Latitude/Longitude: 52.7017, 0.6828
Explore more of the area around Castle Acre, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
CASTLE ACRE PRIORY ROAD
TF 81 SW
8/10 Remains of Gatehouse
of Cluniac Priory
of St. Mary and St
Peter and St Paul
Gatehouse to north precinct of Cluniac Benedictine Priory of St. Mary
and SS Peter and Paul, founded 1090, dissolved 1537. c.1500. Knapped,
squared flint, clunch blocks, brick dress. Roofless. 2 storeys.
Perpendicular. North face has off-centre 4-centred arch carriage entrance,
brick rustication, jambs and soffit, drip mould, keyed brick arch above.
2 centred arched pedestrian gate, similar brick details. Royal arms of
England above. 2 outer brick dressed drip mould head rectangular
windows. Angle buttresses with set offs, brick dressings. First floor
string course, 4 panels with coats of arms. Sills and jambs only of 2
first floor windows. West face has one ground and one first floor brick
dressed rectangular window. South face has 2 arches, one ground and 2
first floor windows. Angle buttresses. Brick spiral staircase in
south-west corner, remains of flues. Scheduled Ancient Monument, County
Number 2. See F.J.E. Raby and P.K.B. Reynolds Castle Acre Priory (1952).
In care of HBMC.
Listing NGR: TF8136414940
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.