Description: Remains of the Chapter House 50 Metres East of Abbey Farmhouse
Date Listed: 19 October 1951
English Heritage Building ID: 221916
OS Grid Reference: TF7817815150
OS Grid Coordinates: 578178, 315150
Latitude/Longitude: 52.7047, 0.6358
Explore more of the area around West Acre, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
WEST ACRE CHURCH GREEN (south side)
10/48 Remains of the Chapter
19.10.51. House 50 metres east
of Abbey Farmhouse.
(Formerly listed as
Priory Gatehouse and
remains in Abbey Farm
Remains of Chapter House of Priory of St. Mary and All Saints. C12, Norman,
re-built in C13 after fire of 1286 and vaulted c.1300. Flint, some stone
dressings. Angle only surviving. Scheduled Ancient Monument, County Number
170. See F.H. Fairweather and H.L. Bradfer-Lawrence 'The Priory .. Westacre',
Norfolk Archaeology, 1929. XXIII, 1929, pp. 359-394.
Listing NGR: TF7817815150
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.