Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 15 August 1960
English Heritage Building ID: 221939
OS Grid Reference: TF7426716112
OS Grid Coordinates: 574267, 316112
Latitude/Longitude: 52.7146, 0.5785
There is also a scheduled monument, Remains of St Andrew's Church, at the same location as this building or very close to it. This may be related in some way or possibly a different name for the same structure.
Explore more of the area around East Walton, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
EAST WALTON -
TF 71 NW
6/6 Church of St. Mary
Parish church. C12 and C15. Mainly flint with some carstone, limestone and
brick; stone dressings; concrete pantile roof. Round west tower, nave,
chancel, south porch. C12 tower of uncoursed small flints with variety of
other materials, rendered embattled parapet having string course with
gargoyles. West window a small lancet; semi-circular headed window above
part blocked; bell opening of 2 uncusped pointed lights under a 4-centred
arch with hoodmould. North and south nave alike: carstone at base, string
course with broken flint above, diagonal buttress to west, 3 plain buttresses.
3 Perpendicular openings of 3 ogee headed lights, tracery of two mouchettes
above outer lights, super transom and mullion above central light; opposing
doorways with continuous moulding and hood mould. South porch of broken flint
with diagonal buttresses, round shafts with polygonal imposts, moulded arch
above with continuous outer moulding; stone benches, returns with 2-light
openings with panel tracery, that to east lost; remains of arch to stoup
recess to right. Chancel with green slate roof, gable parapet and cross,
rendered flint walls, 5-light Perpendicular east window with stepped lights
under 4-centred arch; south chancel with basket headed priest's door renewed;
two Perpendicular openings of 2 and 3-lights. North chancel with one 2-light
Perpendicular opening. Interior: Nave roof ceiled, 9 stone corbels in form
of heads for wall posts of earlier roof. Tall chancel arch part blocked,
polygonal jambs, arch to east and west with moulding of deeply carved foliage;
C18 chancel arch in wood with semi-circular head and reeded jambs. Chancel:
renewed crown post roof; rear arches of east and south windows with moulded
heads, that to east having figure and foliage stops; dropped rear arch to
south window; recess with shelf; triangular stone pediment over priest's
door with Tudor rose in hexafoil, traceried spandrels. 4 C18 Tournai marble
heraldic ledger slabs to "The Honble. Wm. Lord Richardson Barond of Cramond
in North Brittain" 1719, and family. C18 nave fittings: 3 decker pulpit in
pine with L hinges and decorative panel headings, 5 contemporary panelled
box pews, leaded crown glass glazing, pre 1801. Hanoverian canvas achievement
on west wall. Octagonal C14 font having splayed faces with quatrefoils.
Large tortoise stove.
Listing NGR: TF7426716112
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.