Description: Church of St Andrew
Date Listed: 16 April 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 223667
OS Grid Reference: TG4033428407
OS Grid Coordinates: 640334, 328407
Latitude/Longitude: 52.7996, 1.5638
Explore more of the area around Lessingham, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TG 42 NW LESSINGHAM CHURCH LANE
3/32 Church of St. Andrew
Parish church. C13 chancel, C14 nave, altered C15 when aisles removed, C15
west tower. Restored 1878. Flint with ashlar dressings, the nave rendered.
Thatched roofs. 3 stage tower, undifferentiated on exterior. Diagonal
stepped west buttresses rise to ringing chamber. C19 3-light transomed west
window. Chamfered belfry windows, louvred. Crenellated parapet. 2-light
cusped nave west windows, that to north blocked. 2 storey south porch. Wave
moulded arched entrance below triple statuary niches. Central niche with
ogee. head, all cupsed and moulded. Outer niches formerly windows, now
blocked. Diagonal buttresses. Flushwork crenellated parapet. 3 3-light
restored Perpendicular nave windows separated by stepped buttresss. Wave
moulded north nave doorway. South chancel with 2 restored 2-light Y tracery
windows, a lancet and arched Priests' door. One stepped side buttress north
and south, angled buttresses to east. 3-light stepped lancet east window
under enclosing hood mould. One lancet to north chancel wall and low side
window of lancet form but with shouldered head. Interior. Wave moulded tower
arch on circular responds with high polygonal bases and polygonal capitals.
Hollow chamfered chancel arch with similar responds and bases cut to
accommodate screen. Boarded Cl9 nave roof on principal rafters and arched
braces to wall posts. 1 tier moulded butt purlins. C15 octagonal font.
Against stem are 4 lions sejant. Angel and animal heads under bowl. Bowl
panels alternate between rosettes and shields. Blocked parvis stair door
with 4-centred arch. Early C17 faceted pulpit on 4 legs and later cross
stretchers. Strapwork panels below and arcading above. Stairs have turned
newel and circular balusters. Early C17 reading desk of arcaded front panel
between turned posts. 2 thin turned balusters to returns. C15 screen of
2 subdivided bays right and left of 4centred opening. Tracery heads ogeed
below panel tracery. Dado further subdivided into 8 panels under Perpendicular
tracery. To north fragements of 6 painted saints, to south 7 painted saints.
C19 boarded chancel roof. C13 trefoiled piscina with hood mould. Plain
Listing NGR: TG4033428407
This text is a legacy record and has not been updated since the building was originally listed. Details of the building may have changed in the intervening time. You should not rely on this listing as an accurate description of the building.
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.