Description: Waxham Hall
Date Listed: 16 April 1955
English Heritage Building ID: 223686
OS Grid Reference: TG4386325874
OS Grid Coordinates: 643863, 325874
Latitude/Longitude: 52.7753, 1.6141
Explore more of the area around Sea Palling, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TG 42 NW SEA PALLING WAXHAM
3/51 Waxham Hall
Manorial hall, now farmhouse. Circa 1570 with additional north-east block
c. 1800. Flint with re-used ashlar dressings and some brick. Roof of plain
tiles, pantiles to subsidiary ranges. Main block of 2 storeys and dormer
attic. Panelled early C19 door right of centre within timber case under hood
supported on pair of scrolled Corinthian consoles. To left 2 late C18 sash
windows with glazing bars within ashlar quoined surrounds and under stepped
ashlar keystones. To right 2 C19 3-light cross casements under segmental
brick arches. First floor lit through 2 similar cross casements, one early
C19 sash with glazing bars beneath segmental brick arch and one C20 window.
These 4 windows irregularly arranged. Timber eaves cornice below gabled roof.
2 flat-topped dormers with casements. 3 stacks rise over roof line from rear
wing. South gable with stepped rebuilt external stack and one casement each
to first 2 floors, that to ground C20, the other C19. North gable with sashes
to each of first 2 floors, with glazing bars and ashlar or brick surrounds.
Blocked attic window. To north-east a 2 storey brick addition pierced
by sash windows with glazing bars. North gable rebuilt late C20. Gabled roof
with ridge stack. Main block originally with stepped external stacks to rear,
now incorporated into new work. To south of additional wing is a full height
outshut and south again a grotto incorporating C13 and C14 re-used
ecclesiastical masonry. 2 storey wing runs south-west from main block
incorporating C16 gatehouse. To courtyard side gatehouse comprises arched
entrance within square surround with moulded hood on labels. Spandrels carved
with 6-vaned drop patera motif. Main arch blocked with brick and C20 door
built through. To left a blocked arched C16 pedestrian entrance also with
square hood on labels and carved spandrels. To right and left one C19 casement
each floor, those to ground floor under segmental heads. Remains of ashlar
surrounds to original fenestration survives; such evidence also found on
south gable wall. Gabled roof. Rear with remains of external entrance to
gatehouse, blocked with C19 outshut : one fluted and reeded Ionic column
supports entablature with diamond studs in frieze. Second engaged column
survives in interior of outshut. Tall stepped external stack rises through
outshut. Interior. Substantially altered. At first floor a plaster
ceiling remains over upper staircase landing and extends through later
partitions to one room each side. Moulded coved cornice in places retaining
floral trail decoration. Ceiling of geometric and star patterns with
occasional floral bosses, fleur-de-lys and short drop pendants. In south room
pendants are deeper and plaster ribs curve down into them.
Listing NGR: TG4386325874
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.