Church of St Mary, Raynham
Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 6 March 1959
English Heritage Building ID: 223893
OS Grid Reference: TF8797025540
OS Grid Coordinates: 587970, 325540
Latitude/Longitude: 52.7947, 0.7865
Location: Raynham, Norfolk NR21 7ES
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Raynham, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TF 82 NE RAYNHAM EAST RAYNHAM
6/3/59 Church of St. Mary
Estate church in Park rebuilt by 5th Marquis of Townshend. 1866-1868 by Clark
and Holland of Newmarket architects at a cost of £5,000. Flint with stone
dressings, slated roofs except for leaded chancel. Despite dates not High
Victorian in style but still "archaeological" Decorated-Perpendicular in
detail and form, following in plan the church it replaced. West tower, nave
aisle and clerestory, north and south porches, chancel and south transpet.
Buttressed battlemented and pinnacled west tower with south stairs turret.
Perpendicular west window, Decorated belfry windows. Aisles with 3
Perpendicular windows, battlemented, porches with Decorated details,
battlemented clerestory with Perpendicular tracery. Decorated-Perpendicular
chancel with south transept expressed as a porch. 5 light Perpendicular east
window with head of the bishop and Queen Victoria. Interior : 3 bay nave
arcades, arched braced nave roof with exposed rafters and boarding. 3-light
stained tower west window c1868. Furnishings of 1868, including benches with
T monogram. C15 octagonal stone font with traceried stem and panels with
alternate roses and crosses. South aisle C15 brass figure with inscription
to George Townshed son of Roger Townshend armiger. Carved royal arms, Hanover,
of period 1714-1802. Painted hatchment to tower arch. Chancel, the gift
of the Rector Mr. Phayre, with 1868 furnishings and C19 Townshend family wall
monuments. North wall with 1499 freestone Easter Recess or monument
commemorating the Townshend family 1463-1493, tomb chest, panelled surround,
arched recess, attic. Recess figures fragments and niches. Funerary helm
above. Piscina with re-used Norman shafts. (Builder 1866 p 658).
Listing NGR: TF8797025540
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.