Description: Old Hall Farmhouse
Date Listed: 4 October 1960
English Heritage Building ID: 224051
OS Grid Reference: TG0945434958
OS Grid Coordinates: 609454, 334958
Latitude/Longitude: 52.8713, 1.1107
Explore more of the area around Edgefield, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
EDGEFIELD RECTORY ROAD
TG 03 SE
Old Hall Farmhouse (formerly
listed as Riche's. Farm known as
4.10.60. Hall Farm dated 1468)
House, C16 with additions c1600. Flint with brick dressings, pantile roof.
3 cell single range, porch to front, stair turret and wing to rear. 2
storeys and attic. Off-centre axial stack to right, internal left gable
end stack rebuilt. Front renewed 1980's. C19 and C20 3-light casements
with glazing bars; 2 gabled roof dormers with casements to right. Right
hand gable rebuilt and chimney stack renewed. Single storey outshut to
front at right hand side. Right wall of renewed flint under brick gable
with tumbled brickwork. Pantile roof. Projecting 3 storeyed gabled brick
porch with pantiles, c1600; clasping polygonal buttresses ending in
pyramidal finials. Doorway with semicircular head under renewed rendered
pediment: rendered rusticated jambs. Semicircular fanlight with glazing
bars; first and second floor casement windows under rendered pediments,
that to first floor having glazing bars and rendered rusticated jambs;
fire insurance plaque under second storey window. Rear: central 3-storeyed
stair turret has 4 blocked openings and one casement window. 2 storeyed
wing to left, c1600. French window, c1985, in ground floor gable end.
Small infill extension with catslide roof between stair turret and wing.
C19 single storey service addition to left of wing. Interior: ovolo
moulded doorcases to front outshut and to rear wing; large ovolo moulded
doorcase with elaborate stops to stair turret; moulded lintel to window
in central bay; first floor principal beams chamfered, some with bar stops.
Roof much renewed; new roof to rear wing; internal gable end stack removed
on ground and attic floors of wing; first floor has brick fireplace with
Listing NGR: TG0945434958
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.