Description: Church of St Margret
Date Listed: 5 September 1960
English Heritage Building ID: 226876
OS Grid Reference: TM4263395268
OS Grid Coordinates: 642633, 295268
Latitude/Longitude: 52.5013, 1.5735
Explore more of the area around Toft Monks, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TOFT MONKS POUND LANE
TM 49 NW
3/99 Church of St. Margaret
Parish church. Late C12/early C13 with C15 south porch and nave fenestration.
Flint with limestone dressings. Nave plain tiled; chancel and south porch
roofs lead-covered. West tower, nave, chancel, south porch. Early C13
octagonal west tower with single lancet west window. Middle stage has lancets
at cardinal points alternating with round openings, those to the NE and SE
blocked. Tall lancet bell openings flanked by narrower blind lancets. C15
knapped flint parapet with stepped castellation. Small lancet each side of
tower in west wall of nave. C15 nave windows, the westernmost window on each
side very plain and probably C19 replacements. At the south-east corner of
nave, red brick blocking of old rood stair openings flanked by C19 staged
buttress. C15 south porch, east and west walls rendered over and windows
blocked in red brick. Gable has, above plinth, a band of flushwork panels
with ogee cusped heads, all much repaired. Diagonal buttresses to gable.
Limestone and flushwork decoration around arch; niche above. C13 chancel
much remodelled in C19; two lancets on each side, the easternmost openings
now blocked. Priest's door on south side between window openings. Diagonal
buttresses to east gable; 4-light C19 east window. Massive brick and
limestone buttress at north-east corner of nave. North doorway to nave set
very low and blocked in red brick. Interior: arch-braced porch roof with
head carvings on wallpost ends. Good C15 nave roof, much renewed: roll-
moulded purlins and arch-braced principal rafters, carved bosses at
intersections; roll-moulded ridge with pendants; two tiers of castellation
to cornice. Elaborately-moulded tie beam at west end, originally to support
font cover. Tower arch pointed, with plain imposts. Above the tower arch,
a semicircular-headed doorway with another above it now cut by the nave roof.
Smaller blind recess immediately north of lower doorway; deep splayed reveals
to lancets in west wall. These high level openings suggest the existence
of a western gallery. C13 chancel arch with deeply-cut hood mould, engaged
shafts and polygonal capitals. C17 memorial slabs in chancel floor. In the
north-east corner of chancel, a good wall monument to John Bayspoole (d.1653)
and to Rector John Lodington (d.1789). Piscina, much restored, in south-east
corner. Font C15, octagonal; four lions around stem, angel corbels below
bowl defaced, figures around bowl. C17 font cover.
Listing NGR: TM4263395268
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.