Church of St Mary, Martham
Description: Church of St Mary
Date Listed: 25 September 1962
English Heritage Building ID: 227692
OS Grid Reference: TG4549718442
OS Grid Coordinates: 645497, 318442
Latitude/Longitude: 52.7079, 1.6328
Incorrect location/postcode? Submit a correction!
Explore more of the area around Martham, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
MARTHAM BLACK STREET
10/22 Church of St. Mary
Parish church. West tower later C14, nave and aisles mid C15, chancel 1456-
69 by Robert Everard (architect of Norwich Cathedral spire), chancel
demolished and rebuit 1855-61 by Philip Boyce when remainder-of church also
restored. Flint with ashlar dressings. Lead roofs. Cinquefoiled flushwork
arcading circles church at plinth. 4 stage tower supported on stepped angle
buttresses, the buttresses with flushwork panels. Double wave moulded west
doorway under hood mould. 3-light transomed Perpendicular west window, also
under hood mould, extending into second stage. 2-light ringing chamber
windows to north, south and west. 2-light belfry windows with punched tracery.
Below south window is a clock face. Crenellated parapet conceals short leaded
timber spirelet. 2 storey gabled south porch with diagonal stepped buttresses.
Multiple wave moulded entrance arch with flushwork to left and right. Parvis
illuminated through 3-light mullioned window flanked by one nodding ogee niche
each side. 2-light arched side windows. Moulded inner doorway. Tierceron
star vault in porch, the ribs with roll mouldings. C15 south door, carved
and with ironwork and wooden lock. Nave buttresses are stepped. 4 3-light
Perpendicular windows each aisle, of rising supermullion type. Clerestory
windows are similar but with shallower arches. Moulded north doorway. Chancel
1855-61. Flushwork plinth course gives way to chequerwork up to sills.
Buttresses become bulbous below windows and terminate in gablets. 3 2-light
Flowing windows to south and 2 to north. Deeply moulded jambs. On north side
a sloping roofed outbuilding. Exuberant 5-light east window with rosette
designs in tracery head. Interior. Tall tower arch, moulded. One moulding
with suspended shields. 5 bay arcade of lozenge piers with continuous casement
mouldings sweeping past reduced capitals to east and west. Rolled colonnettes
rise from piers to support stone corbels above string course. On corbels rest ..
timber wall posts supporting C19 hammerbeam roof: Pierced arch braces rise
to hammerbeams, which in turn terminate in carved angels. Aisle windows are
set within wall arcade. C15 octagonal font. Stem has ogeed panels in which
are carved relief figures of saints. Bowl panels have scenes of 7 Sacrements
set below depressed ogee arches. Eighth scene is Last Judgement. Chancel
arch has colonnettes rising up to stone angels below foliate corbels. Black
marble colonnettes continue to second foliate corbel. Chancel arch is
sub-cusped cinquefoiled, not arch-like in appearance. Chancel has dado.
Passing through dado are tapering corbels leading into colonnettes between
each window. These rise to corbels of roof. Wall arches peel off from
colonnettes to frame windows. Monument to Rev. Jonathan Dawson 1861 in form
of elaborate Easter sepulchre. Polygonal stone pulpit with cusped arched
recesses and much foliate carving. Curving flight of steps lead into it.
Simple wrought iron rood screen. Brass to Robert Alen in chancel, 1487 : a
heart with an inscription.
Listing NGR: TG4549718442
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.