Description: Church of All Saints
Date Listed: 10 May 1961
English Heritage Building ID: 228194
OS Grid Reference: TG2702214960
OS Grid Coordinates: 627022, 314960
Latitude/Longitude: 52.6847, 1.3574
Explore more of the area around Rackheath, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TG 21 SE RACKHEATH
6/61 Church of All Saints.
Former parish church, now redundant. Fabric generally of early C14. Knapped
flint with brick and limestone dressings. Slate roofs; black-glazed pantiles
on south porch. West tower, nave, chancel, south aisle, south porch. Square
unbuttressed west tower of knapped and squared flint with limestone quoins
and string courses. Plain parapet with roll-moulded coping. 2-light bell
openings; square sound openings with small quatrefoils, restored on south
and west sides, C20. South clerestorey with three quatrefoil windows. Fine
flushwork panelling remains at east and west ends of clerestory : three
panels at each end. Two south aisle windows with cusped 'Y'-tracery; hood
moulds with grotesque head-stops. Simple south porch, probably C15, with
sun-dial in gable. South chancel wall has one blocked window opening and
one 2-light window with 'Y'-tracery, much repaired. Small priest's door
with three-centred arch. Doorway in nave north wall, very low and blocked
with later brickwork. Remains of rood stair at junction of nave and chancel,
in north wall of chancel. C19 curvilinear east window with brick surround.
Upper quoins and gable parapet in red brick. Interior : C14 south arcade
of three bays with double hollow-chamfered arches on octagonal piers and
responds. Chancel arch has similar details. Narrow tower arch with four
orders of plain chamfers, but no pilasters. Octagonal font, C17 with heavily
moulded base capital and bowl. Bowl facets carved with heads. Ceilings
plastered over; south aisle wall plate supported on stone corbels. Base
of roof stair in north-east corner of nave. Banner-stave recess in north-
west corner of nave. Good series of wall monuments, particularly those to
Sir John Pettus (+ 1698) and dame Mary (+ 1798) on east wall of south aisle;
to Thomas Pettus (+1723) on south wall of aisle. Wall monuments to Stracey
family on north wall of nave.
Listing NGR: TG2702214960
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.