Description: The Old Rectory
Date Listed: 19 March 1985
English Heritage Building ID: 228513
OS Grid Reference: TG3635606231
OS Grid Coordinates: 636356, 306231
Latitude/Longitude: 52.6024, 1.4890
Explore more of the area around Strumpshaw, Norfolk at Explore Britain.
TG 30 NE STRUMPSHAW BUCKENHAM
8/65 The Old Rectory.
Former rectory house built for Rev. T.W. Beauchamp, rector 1814-63. Dated
1827, extended 1839. Red brick with hipped slate roof. Two storeys,
originally L-shaped plan. Lower courses of walls in thin brick laid in English
bond with traces of diaper work, suggesting a rebuilding of a house of c.1600.
Principal facade to south symmetrical : two-light casement windows with label
moulds over ground floor openings. Central two-leaf glazed door to garden
under a semi-circular brick arch of three orders. The centre bay is slightly
advanced with a stepped gable corbelled out. The gable contains a large sun
dial and the date 1827 in brick letters. Dog tooth brick eaves. Slated loggia
around perimeter of building supported on circular brick piers and cast iron
columns. Loggia has central pediment with elliptical soffit on south
elevation. Roof hipped over canted east and west ends. Later extension dated
1839 fills in north west angle of 'L'. Chimney stacks with clustered octagonal
and diagonal shafts, dated TPB 1827. Conical glazed light over staircase.
Interior contains many re-set archaeological fragments collected by Rev.
Listing NGR: TG3635606231
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.