Description: Church of St Lawrence
Date Listed: 26 April 1950
English Heritage Building ID: 232411
OS Grid Reference: SP9801771457
OS Grid Coordinates: 498017, 271457
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3325, -0.5630
Explore more of the area around Stanwick, Northamptonshire at Explore Britain.
RAUNDS CHURCH STREET
SP97SE (North side)
5/109 Church of St. Lawrence
26/04/50 (Formerly listed as Parish
Church of St. Lawrence)
Church. C13 and C14, restored 1858. Regular coursed and squared coursed
limestone with ashlar spire. Lead, Colleyweston slate and plain tile roofs.
Nave, chancel south aisle, organ chamber and vestry, south porch and west tower.
South elevation of chancel of 2 bays, one-window range with 3-light windows
under 4-centred arch heads. 6-panel C18 arch-head south door to centre. Ashlar
buttresses between bays. Shallow gabled roof with castellated ashlar parapet and
finial. 4-light Perpendicular east window with 4-centred head and curved label
stops. North elevation of chancel has C19 lean-to vestry and gabled organ
chamber attached. 3-light north window and 2-light east window. Plain tile roof.
South aisle of 4 bays; 2-window range of 3-light Perpendicular windows to right,
with 4-centred arch heads. Small blocked doorway in left bay. Lean-to roof with
castellated ashlar parapet. 2-light square-head east and west windows. 2-storey
gabled porch in bay to left of centre, has double chamfered outer arch with
2-light square-head window above. Chamfered and stepped inner doorway has one
order of shafts. Shallow gabled roof with castellated ashlar parapet and finial.
Stair turret with lean-to stone roof to left of porch. North elevation of nave
of 3-window range of tall 3-light windows with 4-centred arch heads. Blocked
north door to right of centre has carved tablet above. 3-stage buttresses
between bays. Steep gabled roof with Colleyweston slates, castellated ashlar
parapet and gable finial. Octagonal west tower of 2 stages with shallow
buttresses to lower part of first stage. West lancet window with octofoil window
above. Upper stage is set back with 2-light bell-chamber openings in the
cardinal directions and similar blind arcading, each with central corbel, to the
diagonal faces of the octagon. Octagonal ashlar spire has corbel table and
castellated frieze at base. 3 tiers of lucarnes. Polygonal stair turret is
attached to north face of tower. Interior: 3-bay south arcade, to nave, of
double chamfered arches with quatrefoil piers. Double-chamfered chancel arch
with octagonal responds and nail head decoration. Triple chamfered tower arch.
C19 roof structures. Double piscina in south aisle has central column.
Trefoil-head arched seat to right of chancel arch facing into chancel. C19
chamfered arch to organ chamber. Perpendicular octagonal font, with the stem
missing. Monuments: Thomas de Wynchy, C14, inscribed brass strip in chancel
floor. John Atkins died 1669 wife and family, inscribed tablet, to left of
altar, with arms over. C18 oval tablet to left and various C19 tablets to right.
Communion rail has 4 turned balusters. Stained glass: C19 east window, 2 west
windows and south aisle east window, the latter is by Kempe. Original scaffold
holes are visible in the tower. Pitch hooks for removing burning thatch attached
to belfry wall. Room over porch has C20 roof and partially legible inscribed
memorial tablet fixed to the wall.
(Buildings of England: Northamptonshire, p.412).
Listing NGR: SP9801771457
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.