Description: The Old Rectory
Date Listed: 26 April 1950
English Heritage Building ID: 232427
OS Grid Reference: SP9793571469
OS Grid Coordinates: 497935, 271469
Latitude/Longitude: 52.3326, -0.5642
Explore more of the area around Stanwick, Northamptonshire at Explore Britain.
RAUNDS RAUNDS ROAD
SP97SE (North side)
5/125 The Old Rectory
26/04/50 (Formerly listed as Stanwick
Rectory, now house. Datestone 1717 refers to rebuilding by Sir James Burrough
for Peter Needham, probably partially remodelled C19. Squared coursed limestone
with ashlar facade and felted and battened roof at time of inspection. Double
depth plan. 2 storeys with attic. Main front of 5-window range. Central boarded
door has moulded stone architrave and flight of steps. Sash windows with glazing
bars also have moulded stone architraves. Raised string course between floors
and moulded stone cornice. Hipped roof with stone stacks. Elevation to left has
long arch-head stair window, with glazing bars. Rear elevation, also of 5-window
range of sash windows with glazing bars, under stone lintels, was probably
remodelled mid C19. Central ashlar porch with panelled door has datestone.
Interior not inspected but noted from photographs as having C18 staircase with 3
turned balusters per tread and fielded panelled rooms. Rebuilt in 1717 at a cost
of £1,000. The previous rectory was home of William Dolbens.
(V.C.H.: Northamptonshire, Vol.4, p.51; N.M.R.: Photographic collection).
Listing NGR: SP9793571469
Source: English Heritage
Listed building text is © Crown Copyright. Reproduced under licence.